Day 11: Idaho is bigger than you expect


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Idaho » Boise
August 4th 2009
Published: August 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Eagle Ridge Ranch. Slept like a baby in the log cabin after drinks in the hot tub.
I woke up, Regina was still asleep. It was a sunny, yet not too warm morning, so I decided to go for a run! Hadn't run in a week! I miss it. After less then half mile I realized that I'm either totally out of shape of the elevation is killing me! Guess it's a combination of both. No surprise at 6300 feet of elevation! I can't wait to go running regularly in Washington state!
After we ran (Regina had the same idea and was gone when I came back), we had a long breakfast on the porch. The plan was to spend the day with some water sports, so we drove west, because we saw some lakes on the map. They all turned out to be perfect if you bring your own boat. I have to admit, we have pretty much anything in the car, but no boat. So we decided to just keep driving to Boise, ID. On the way there was some road construction on the interstate, for about 20 miles we could only drive 20 miles per hour. And the tank was empty, the light was already on. Man, I worked up a sweat. But we made it to the gas station and hours later to Boise, passing a really bad thunderstorm. We tried to take pictures, it was very scary. I can imagine how tornadoes develop here.
We are staying in a little hotel outside Boise. Wend downtown for dinner, had sushi (very yummy), next door The Wailers gave a concert, didn't go there though. Now blogging and then to bed! Good night!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb