Working in Paradise


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
May 18th 2007
Published: May 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It is just after 8pm Hawaii time on a sleepy Friday night. I am typing this from my front desk computer at the Waikiki Beachside Hostel. I started working nights here on Tuesday, switching from the previous week working very busy days. Most of the kids that stay here are out clubbing now, so there is not much activity. A few late check in's and a few people wanting to use the internet cafe. My co-worker, Ference, is a long time (5 years) employee and he is quite jaded and burned out on this job. He says this job and his living conditions (he is living a large, dorm type building..he calls it ghetto) are his training in tolerance. He is from Hungary and he left there when it was still communist, so he got on the fast track to US citizenship.

Since we are a travelers hostel, no kama'aina's please, we get all kinds of foreigners. It is really very interesting to try to figure out what these people are saying. Even if they are speaking English (natively), it can be a challenge. The Brits always say "cheers" instead of thank you. It so funny. I think I
Diamond HeadDiamond HeadDiamond Head

I live about a mile or so from here
will start doing that. Usually we say "mahalo" (thank you in Hawaiian).

Since I started writing this, I think I sold at least 10 hours of internet, 2 laundry detergent bags, a $5 phone card, let someone borrow a pen, and took 2 reservations, plus turned a reservation down from a man from Shanghai, his wife, and his two kids (sorry no one under 18) who were stuck at the airport after missing a flight. This all in about 30 minutes, but still it is a slow night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Sunset on the BeachSunset on the Beach
Sunset on the Beach

Movies and music near my house
Kapiolani ParkKapiolani Park
Kapiolani Park

Park across from my house
View of Diamond HeadView of Diamond Head
View of Diamond Head

From the beach
Hanaumu BayHanaumu Bay
Hanaumu Bay

One of the better snorkeling spots on the island


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb