Around the World in 80 Minutes. Restoration opy.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
November 30th 1999
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post


On the evening of March 31, a fire broke out in a Unit, 2 units away causing mostly smoke damage. So the past 3 weeks were spent cleaning, vacuuming, scrubbing, washing, etc. to remove the odor so I could finally move back in. After 3 weeks, I was able to accomplish pretty much was I could to make the place livable, and not a day too soon, as the 23rd Annual Hawaii Pacific University Intercultural Day was to take place, in downtown. Though I only discovered it during the past 5 years of it occurrence, it does give me something to look forward to.

The students from the various countries set up booths mostly for informational purposes to give others the opportunity to learn and hopefully appreciate the richness of their culture. At about noon, they parade around the Downtown area, in their native costumes, some dancing their country’s dances. Later, they do their performances on the stage. Competition for best booth and cultural performances are awarded.

Every year it seems a large contingent from a new country is the most prominent which in the case of this year, was Saudi Arabia. In their booth they offered to write your name in Arabic and were awarded 1st Place in the Booth category. In the Singapore booth, they had questions in a box which they allowed you to pick and try to answer of whether you thought it was true or false with a little prize of snack or juice if able to answer correctly. First question was “You can receive a $500.00 fine for wearing funky sunglasses”. Of course I’ve heard about some of Singapore extremely strict laws, but this I’m pretty sure was false. Received a candy for guessing it right. Next question I think was, You can get fined for Jaywalking”. This was more in line of what I’ve heard, so I answered in the affirmative correctly and received a can of juice.

In the Cultural Performance, the Middle Eastern students really performed a highly spirited Arabic dance with lots of jumping and Highland fling type of footwork, to exotic hypnotic Arab music, a first time experience for many in the audience, I imagined.

The following day, a Peace Symposium and Exhibit took place at the University of Hawaii which provided another photo opportunity for me to present you sights of the people, culture, events and sites of my island home.



Additional photos below
Photos: 79, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

My Name in Arabic.My Name in Arabic.
My Name in Arabic.

Do I have it right side up? Anyone knows?


23rd April 2007

Good pictures
Hai Franklin, Sorry to hear about your fire problems. We hope everything is fine again. Nice pictures in your blog about this event. Saterday we are leaving for China . We hope it will be a great trip again. Nice regards from Holland. Adriaan and Jacqueline
23rd April 2007

To Tibet this time, right? How I envy you. Looking forward to your photos and account. Regarding fire, glad no one was hurt. Considered myself lucky as some neighbors had it much worse. Another Hi rise fire took place a week later, and there was injury, possibly because of bldgs. style of construction (enclosed hallways).
6th June 2007

Hi Monkey and Bear. Glad you were able to keep up with my blog and enjoyed it. Yes, I enjoyed yours also, especially since you were able to see many places I never knew existed in China. You also seemed to be able to make friends with the people you encountered on a deeper level sharing knowledge and interest in their culture. That's a big plus in travel. Frank

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb