The Fat Greek in Hawaii


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Waikiki
June 17th 2011
Published: June 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well groupies, tourist from down under at large Travelblog.org editorial No 2......setting a hectic pace checking out all the sites, just to leave enough time to visit as many sports bars in 9 days...... For the uninitiated Its the middle of the Final Series of the Ice Hockey called the Stanley Cup (Grand Final) and as with all other US sports it’s a best of 7 series between Vancouver and Boston......... well its tied 3 all and the last game was on Wednesday Hawaii time, as you would have it one of my Roomies is from Boston........go figure, fortunately the underdog WON! The Boston Bruins

Nevertheless, I dragged him out at midnight HL time the night before to watch the SOO at the Legends Sports Bar with a pack of rowdy skips from down under one even had a NSW jumper on, I ask you who would bring a NSW footy jumper to Hawaii. I don’t think there was too many QLDers, and why would you come to Hawaii if you have a baby version of Waikiki but with taller buildings on the Gold Coast. Anyway I was keeping time by drinking at the rate of 1 pint per half.....as my Boston roomie said the guy beside us drank 7 during the game........its good to see someone is flying the flag for RSA and RCA!!!

Anyway back to tourist stories....Walked through and up the Diamond Head Crater, not as many steps as in Naphlio in Greece (999 steps) a chest burner nevertheless and my $10 Billion medical Travel insurance cover did cross my mind.....But I did it, took the pics of Waikiki from the top and can happily say I’ve ticked the box on that one...whew!

Went with the Roomie to Chinatown and the Government Precinct only so I can see the Hawaii 5-0 HQ building. In Chinatown I swear I saw some of the locals from Cabramatta moonlighting with secondary employment!! We then decided to sweat out all the fluid consumption by walking to the mega shopping complex Ala Moana Centre....By this stage we were stuffed and court ‘The Bus’ No 19 back to ‘Waikiki Beach and Hotels’......Interesting public transport system all tickets are $2.50....exact change please!!!!

More interesting at the food mall at Ala Moana was the Asian workers in a Yeeros shop....WTF..For goodness sake couldn’t they find a fat Greek to run the shop!!!! (Check the Pic out....duckin classic....luv it... I should open up a chain of franchise stores and can do my own commercials...oh plz stop me now otherwise I will go on forever!!)

Weather has been sensational, these trade wind are awesome and keeps the whole place cool except when you’re lying on the beach frying to death. Off to start my Scuba Diving PADI course on Thursday....Studying hard for my theory. BTW these Japanese sure like their blow up floaties!

In between I’m off to do all the war mongering stuff at Pearl Harbour....that’ll take a full day and looking forward to it....after that and the scuba it leaves me 2 days to go to Benzai Pipeline on the North Shore, a Luau and shopping......apart from picking up one of the million Japanese tourist I think I have crammed in as much as possible.

For all those concerned about my mental health...I did manage to watch a chick flick on the flight, so all is good!!

So there you have instalment no 2 and about 2 mins left on the battery...So Aloha until Instalment no 3....

PS These American dollars are driving me %#@&% nuts.... and for the next episode I’ll include a food editorial!

Spyros
Solo Tourist in Paradise





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

EngrishEngrish
Engrish

Have I missed something here...Fipty dolla Plz!


Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb