Maui Woweee!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Maui
September 21st 2006
Published: October 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Day 1 - Thursday, Maui
We arrived after a very short smooth flight from the Big Island. What hit me straightaway was how much hotter it felt in Maui. The airport was bigger than I expected and it was so much busier, which felt slightly strange seeing as the Big Island is larger than Maui.
We picked up our massive 4x4 from the unhappy Alamo people and went on our way. As soon as we got on the main road there was an announcement stating that there were major delays on the road to Lahaina which was the one we were on. At that point I remembered all the posts complaining about the traffic. Well they’re right, the traffic in Lahaina is terrible, but to be honest who cares when you are on holiday and have amazing scenery to look at.
We got to Lahaina parked up and headed to Cheeseburger Paradise which is on the seafront. We had a great table overlooking the ocean and the food was quick, filling and did the job. Their pineapple smoothies are great!
After lunch we had a nose around and then headed up to our b&b, Ho’oilo house. I was full of expectation of this place, as I had seen so many great photos of it and heard lovely things of it. I was so not disappointed, we were met at the door, shown our room and how all the gadgets work. Ho'oilo House is simply stunning, the effort the owners have gone to with the décor and ambience of the place is exceptional, I take my hat off to them. I would go as far to say that it is like a work of art, it is a house but it doesn’t look and feel like one, it’s like it is just a space where you can instantly make your own for your stay.
We decided to head to Ka’anapali resort to watch the sunset on the beach. When we arrived there were very few people on the beach which made it very special…the sunset was spectacular. I was speechless, clouds I think really make a great sunset, they lend the glow of the sun various depths of colour and give the view a majestic size.
We did not go for dinner that evening as we were still so full from the Paradise restaurant. So we just went for a drive and a walk in the surrounding area.

Day 2 - Friday, Luau
We had an early start to the Old Lahaina Luau Breakfast. When I booked this I thought it would be a little cheesy so I was already telling myself to remember to keep a straight face. When we arrived the beautiful entrance hall was full of kids and adults, we greeted with a smile and a beautiful bead necklace. The buffet breakfast was really good; they gave you plenty of time to eat breakfast first before the whole thing started. A lovely young man was playing the guitar whilst we ate, and the view of the sea was awesome.
The whole experience from learning about their dance, their customs, history, weaponry and food was fascinating. I learnt a lot. The guides/teachers were very professional but also fun. They encouraged everyone take part in the dance and spear throwing. Their outfits were cool, and you really felt like they were giving you a peak of what traditional Hawaiian life used to be like. I would recommend this luau to adults on hols with their partners/friends and to families. I was pleasantly surprised, it was fascinating. The guys there had the most amazing tattoos; I couldn’t stop staring at them!
After the luau we set off to Wailea beach which had great sand but overall was so so. We also headed to Big Beach, stopping off at one of the street side food carts for shaved ice along the way . Big Beach was just so much fun, the waves were massive, there were all these boogie borders and crazy swimmers getting completely dumped by the waves. We wanted to go to the “fishbowl” that’s a little bit further on from Big Beach but I think it has now all been closed off to the public. On our way back to Ho'oilo house we stopped off at Bad-Ass coffee in Kihei for a quick fill and had a look around the market stalls.
That night we had dinner at this new Chinese restaurant called Zuihao . The food was really good, lovely looking restaurant.

Day 3 - Saturday, Swap Meet and Mama’s
I was actually looking forward to this day the most, it was going to be a day of shopping and great food!
We woke up and some Ho'oilo House breakfast, lovely tea and homemade muffins. We then headed straight for the swap meet in Kahului near the post office. The market was fab, there sold so much. The market was filled with art, fresh fruit and veg stalls, there was so much jewellery to look at, crystals. There were some lovely pieces of furniture, ornaments and even a palm reader. We bought original art, soaps, and homemade jams - the jams stall is great , you can buy them individually or in a nice woven basket.
After the meet we headed to the big mall, Queen K - after seriously wasting time and money there we headed back to Ho'oilo House to chill out on our Lanai.
That evening we headed to Pa’ai for our lovely dinner at Mamma’s Fish House. When I made this reservation over email, I let them know that I was taking my boyfriend and that I would really like us to have a nice table. We got their 10 minutes early so they showed us to the bar to have a drink. My first impression of the restaurant was simply, WOW! The setting on the beach is truly idyllic, the flowers in the reception area and bar were stunning, all the staff were really friendly. To be honest the evening just got better and better. We went the whole hog and had all the courses. Our waiter was great at talking us through the menu. My boyfriend had, mahi mahi stuffed with lobster and I had another kind of fish which was also tasted wonderful. The table bread was delicious, and our dessert was great. We literally rolled out of the restaurant! Mama’s I think has to be on everyone’s Hawaii plan. The sunset was incredible and we had front row streets, I don’t think I’ll ever forget how the sky looked that evening.

Day 4 - Sunday, Road to Hana
We were up early again for our big day on the road to Hana. We stopped off at Charley’s in Pa’ai for a big breakfast, which was great. Highly recommend their breakfasts. We borrowed this great CD from our B&B which featured great songs and a mile by mile narration of what there was to see and do on the road to Hana.
The scenery was wonderful, there is one particular point when the road hugs around the hillside and you look to the opposite verge and the vegetation is so thick and dramatically different what surrounds it. The vegetation almost looks like clumps of broccoli. Sadly on our way there the waterfalls were not that fierce and most were weeping or trickling. The weather was definitely on our side as it began to rain and by the time we made the trip back the waterfalls were fiercer and more beautiful.
This might be a bit controversial but I must say that we actually continued a fair way past Hana and although the road is very narrow, with many twists and turns, I actually thought that the scenery was much nicer, definitely worth a look.
We stopped off for lunch at Tutu’s in Hana bay - the food was not great at all. If you have a cool box, I would pack a great lunch and have a picnic on the grass over looking the bay. There were loads of kids mucking around, and locals fishing, it was a really nice serene place to relax in.
That evening we had dinner at a little Thai restaurant called Thai Chef in Lahaina it was not very expensive, the food was Ok - right for the price if that makes sense.


Day 5 - Monday, Haleakala Sunrise
We had to get up at 2.30am to get to the meeting place for 3.30am. We did the sunrise with www.bikemaui.com - these guys basically give you a map and you have 6 hours to make your own way down the volcano back to their bike shop. I was terrified about this trip, I read and heard of so many stories of people either hurting themselves really badly or worse… So, I was so careful at first, but then I got my confidence up and really enjoyed the ride. Having done it I now can’t understand how anyone can come off the bike, unless they had real bad luck, or someone else provoked a fall. The ride down was amazing, we could see so much of Maui and even saw a sugar field on fire, the smoke looked a massive mushroom cloud. The only thing that I found challenging was that with the crash helmets it was really quite hard to hear for traffic approaching behind you. The company prefers you to ride in the middle of your lane as it gives you the most margin for error, but then vehicles do get impatient waiting for you to move over… you can’t win.
After the ride we treated ourselves to another Charley’s breakfast! Seriously we put on sooo much weight on this holiday.
In the afternoon we decided to go to Ka’anapali resort to relax on the beach. All our ideas of splashing around in the water were swept away as soon as we arrived… the red flag were out and only surfers were enjoying the huge waves. Nevermind, they provided us with great sporting entertainment.
That evening we had dinner at Roy’s this place was great - I tried the best coconut ice cream!

Day 6 - Tuesday, Waterworld
Today was another early rise to catch the Four Winds II snorkel trip to Molokini and Turtle town… I’ve heard lots of bad reviews about the so called Turtle Town… this is where you basically kill the boats motor and look for turtles… well we were certainly in luck we must have seen about 11 different turtles.
The ride out to Molokini was OK to start with, but then the boat suddenly went a lot faster and we had a very rocky ride for the last 20mins… there were many people feeling sick on the boat. I was not enjoying myself at this point. I couldn’t wait to get there so I could just go and do my own thing looking at all the fish.
We got there soon enough, I jumped in and straightaway saw loads of different types of fish, and eels. I didn’t see any turtles/dolphins/sharks , this was an afternoon lesson to learn how to surf. We had so much fun, our instructor was called Armadillo, and he was the best. I have to say this was my favourite activity of all. It was so funny from start to finish. There were only 5 of us in the lesson and we all cheered each other on. Goofy Foot have a rule…If you don’t stand in the lesson you don’t pay! We all stood on our boards, Armadillo is a great teacher.
That night we went to Bubba Gumps for dinner which was out of the top draw.

Day 13 - The End
Our last morning before flying to Chicago… We went for a traditional breakfast at Charley’s on our way to the airport.

A great holiday in Hawaii, I loved every minute of it… I can’t believe how quickly time went and can only dream of returning to the Big Island and Maui one day soon. Bon voyage!



Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 22; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb