Haleakala...Spectacular!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Maui » Upcountry
May 18th 2010
Published: June 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Sign to Haleakala Crator and National ParkSign to Haleakala Crator and National ParkSign to Haleakala Crator and National Park

Upper Kula Road to Our Turn Off Here on Crater Road, an Unassuming Roadway Considering What Lies Ahead.

Haleakala Sunset


Of all the events of the day, this coming “meeting” is one I have looked forward to with interest and anticipation. My sense to attend to a sunset rather than a sunrise - which others said was amazing - is due purely to spiritual guidance. Our sense was clear and I trusted that this experience, and not the other, was the one that belonged to us.


I brought with me those items that are tokens of my respect and that reflect my gratitude for the aspect of Life/Spirit that we will commune with while there. The two nature aspects in this case are Fire and Water. Primal as they are, each is experienced uniquely according to the time, place, and purpose at hand. In this case, I could feel the elemental nature of Fire that created this volcano. It was the primary force in the making of Maui the island, the reason it was born, and yet, its creation was in the cradle of Water. That it occurred as such is what generates the ease and harmonious ebb and flow of life that gives this island its distinctive relaxed island feel.


I contemplate
Haleakala Haleakala Haleakala

Driving Up Through the Clouds
these things as Becky drives us to the Haleakala turnoff. Beginning with small farms, a forested area then past lavender fields, we quickly move up into the clouds and through them. I realize they are chasing after us. Mist rolls up the hills almost as fast are we are driving - which it not too fast on this narrow and hairpin twisty road. (Kudos to Becky and her driving skills.) Eventually we leave the cloud mist behind and i begin to catch brief views here and there of large cloud coverings floating just below us. It is wondrous to me.


The mountain becomes drier and more desert like as we climb. Vegetation thins out and seems to disappear. Nevertheless, among the blackish volcanic rock and charcoal patches of sand is cactus like plants having long spear shaped leaves. They glow silver in the waning light - they really do appear silver dipped. Against the dark basalt rock formations and lessening light, they stood out in stark and glowing relief. What a quirk of nature and unexpected surprise.


Eventually, we come to the Haleakala Visitor Center. There are hiking trails and overlooks, signs and information. I wish
Haleakala DriveHaleakala DriveHaleakala Drive

Cloud Mist Appears to Chase After Us
to linger, explore, but we are at over 9,700 feet and the wind is blowing hard - and it is COLD! Really cold. I am glad for my intuitive sense to layer up for warmth. We have gone from 78 degrees to approximately 48 degrees. I take a few pictures and climb back into the car.


At last, we arrive at the summit. At 10,023 feet, it is easy to feel on top of the world. Essentially, here on this island, we are. We come to a circular parking lot with a handful of other vehicles already present. We park almost in front of the trail that leads up the last few feet to Red Hill, the overlooking ridge facing directly west toward our quickly setting sun. And yes, the hill is red, sandy covered with rocky outcrops. Looking to our left, we see the science center, looks like an observatory, parked on top of an adjacent ridge. I know we cannot do a regular ceremony out in this blasting wind, nor in the presence of others. Still, it is clear to me i am to do one. I merely pause and relax, shift and open up to
Haleakala_Crater RoadHaleakala_Crater RoadHaleakala_Crater Road

Strange to Look out and See Yourself Even with the Clouds
the Spirit of this volcano, this place, and ask for guidance. Feeling gratitude in my heart, i have a sincere desire to humble myself in the face of the spiritual nature of all Life; a prerequisite if one wishes to be honored in return. Immediately i sense a wonderful “presence“. Recognizing that it is not necessarily the details or doing it perfectly that matter, Becky and I sit quietly in the car each having our own experience as we learn, honor, and I do not think it is too strong a word to use - love everything around us, moving through us. Our “knowing” comes as pure experience in the moment. It is all there is, ever. The moment.


Our intentions and offerings are accepted. We receive blessings and guidance so that we may find greater joyfulness and abundance while we are here. Need I say that my gratitude overflowed? I thank Life for all things. We bring closure to our experience. As an afterthought, I could not help but feel grateful for the events and significant people that came into my life in such a way and timely manner that I came to the realization of my
Haleakala_Nearing SummitHaleakala_Nearing SummitHaleakala_Nearing Summit

Silversword Plant 0n Crater Road
intuitive gifts and abilities. I would not be here now, or even be alive if not for those people and the pivotal moments that seemed to come with them.



With our ritual completed, we climb out of the car - and the wind tears at us. Up this high, nothing blocks one’s direct experience of the northeasterly trade winds. We push our way to the top of the ridge joining others who have accumulated while we were involved with Spirit. Most people huddled up in an attempt to keep warm. Many are in shorts and sleeveless shirts. We are the only ones with blankets, which I have brought, of course, by intuition. Becky had some resistance to coming up here. She had wanted to stay down at the Visitor Center where we could be in the car in comfort and watch the view from the parking lot overlook. My guidance was specific, however, and she came to her own knowing about this as well. So here we are.


Standing near the top of the sharp ridge with my back to the wind, I look to the ball of fire hanging directly out in front of us. The cold wind is hard on me but I feel exhilarated by the spiritual experience I just had and the beauty in front of me. I hear in my mind “go this way…” I feel pulled to go over the top of the ridge. It looks as if it drops of the edge of the world... I carefully move in the direction of the pull. “Keep on…” I hear. I thought, oh no, this is slippery looking sand and if I fall… Then I saw a slight path that angled to my right and disappeared over the edge. As I followed it, I saw below and further to the right a ledge. Wow! I warily followed the trail down and found it easy to traverse. Suddenly the wind stopped, blocked by the wall of rock now at my back. Rocks jutting out of the wall allowed for sitting perches with a perfect view spread out in front and below me. The sudden quiet and relief and, as well, the 160-degree view, astounded me. I hurried back up and urged Becky to follow me. As I walked past a young couple hugging each other tight against the cold wind, I stopped pointed over the lip of the ridge and explained there was a ledge. As they were Asian, I hoped they understood English well enough. Evidently, they did as they came with. They were grateful to be out of the wind and i saw the relief and huge smiles on their faces. A few minutes later, they came up to us and offered to take pictures of Becky and me. I was thrilled. In return, I did the same for them. All four of us seemed so connected and present to the beauty around us.


As well, I gave them my seating perch because it was the only place wide enough for two. They were young and appeared so in love. I enjoyed seeing them enjoying themselves so much. I am glad for the moment/s that brought us together.


"Oohs", and "Ahhs", were the only sound after that. I could not have asked for a more natural, spiritual experience. In minutes, it was over. The sun sank into the clouds leaving me with a deep and satisfying peace within. I was wordless for once. Though my soul spoke, softly, spectacular... spectacular…








Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Haleakala_Erosional ValleyHaleakala_Erosional Valley
Haleakala_Erosional Valley

Haleakala means "House of the Sun" This view is right next to the Visitor Center. The wind ferocious. We did not linger.
Arrive at SummitArrive at Summit
Arrive at Summit

This is Pu'u'ula'ulam - Hawaiian for "Red Hill"
Haleakala SummitHaleakala Summit
Haleakala Summit

Lettie Sitting on Red Hill
Haleakala Science CenterHaleakala Science Center
Haleakala Science Center

On Adjacent Ridge
Haleakala Summit_Red HillHaleakala Summit_Red Hill
Haleakala Summit_Red Hill

Becky and Lettie_Ready for Sunset (Picture taken by our new friends)


25th June 2010

You Bet
Craig, buddy! You bet it was Wow! I wish we were hanging out together 'cause you would have loved it up here on top of this mountain. I don't know though, have you guys already been to Hawaii? If not, maybe an anniversary trip for you and Jill? I could be your tour guide!!?? (-:

Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb