Kona Marathon and 5K


Advertisement
Published: June 27th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Well, my last big weekend on Hawaii is over. I fly out of here tomorrow in the am, hitting SeaTac around 10pm Pacific time. Going to spend Wednesday with Ralph and Milly and then have an early flight to BWI Thursday. The condo was marvelous all weekend. Just for everyone's info, Jeanne finished the full marathon, her friend Susan finished the half marathon, and me... I completed my first ever 5K. Jeanne had been telling me all along I could do it, and after we spent one morning swimming twice in the ocean (I did deep water running with a belt), climbing a steep hill for coffee and tea and then walking a really long way on A'lii street to have lunch and then all the way back to the parking lot near the pier where we parked, she said old me we had walked close to five miles and I could do a 5K easily. She said how could I miss doing my first in paradise.Figured what did I have to lose, so signed up without telling her. She mentioned it several other times, and then one evening while we were talking to Susan before yogi, she mentioned it again and I told her I had signed up. Day before the competition we walked to the Hilton to pick up our race packets. Jeanne told we we asked about two miles and one more than that should be easy for me. Next morning I got up with Jeanne at 4:15 in order to leave the condo by 5:15 to catch her starting out. Wanted to get great pictures, but dawn had not really broken when they took off. Waited there to try and catch Susan at 6, but then the sun was just high enough so that all I got was a lower body and a golden halo. Headed back for me to get ready go, at 6:45 we took off. I had my headphones on and a good book so it really was not too bad until the last half mile. But I made it. Susan stayed around for our after party and really early night. Now we are back at the house with the pups and getting ready for a quiet night. I am 90% packed. Hate to leave here, it really is paradise. Will miss the kids, the dogs, the mountains and the ocean. Everything is close enough to be at within two hours. And so I bid adieu to all this beauty and the ocean. I hope everyone gets to come here at least once in their lives. So, for the last time this trip, Aloha from Hawaii.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0587s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb