Exploring The Big Island of Hawaii (again)


Advertisement
Published: September 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I am blessed to say that this was my THIRD trip to the Big Island of Hawaii. My parents are big lovers of Hawaii and have been there even more times than I have. I use to say they were just obsessed, but I think I may be too! Now that one of the most important and romantic days of my life happened there, it will always hold a very special place in my heart.

We stayed at the Kona Coast Resorts just off of Alii drive. It was a great location because it wasnt too far from all the happening on Alii, but it also wasnt in the centre of everything. We were close to the Hawaii, aswell as a grocery/shopping centre and the best snorkeling beach on the island! And thats exactly where we went on our first full day there - to the snorkel beach! Its always been one of the favorite places because its not super crowded and there are just SO many fish there (and turtles!) My dear friend Ally turned out to be a little uncomfortable with the goings on underneath the water and screamed several times after putting her face in the water. Matt was a little uncomfortable with it at first too, but eventually they all got use to it and thoroughly enjoyed it I think!

Day 2 was spent exploring the shops in town and watching the ocean waves crashing against the rocks on the shore. I found a painting in the art gallery and I absolutely loved, but since we didnt have $2000 as pocket change I had to say goodbye. Maybe in 20 years eh hunny? Then we enjoyed a delecious meal at 'Bubba Gumps with Allison and Jesse (my maid of honour & matts best man)!'

Day 3 we drove 45 minutes north to Hapuna Beach. This is our favorite beach on the island because its just a couple miles of white sand. Its also the perfect place to go boogie boarding or body surfing. The water is a crystal blue colour and the waves can get pretty big (so can the current, so you have to be careful.) We were near Waikoloa so we went to have lunch in the food court (mmm ice cream) Unfortunitly, as I was buying my subway sandwhich I started to feel a little wousy. Now Ive passed out lots in my life, so I tend to reconize when its coming on. I walked towards my mum and told her I thought I was going to faint. Next thing I know I wake up on the nice cold tile floor of the food court. Classy lady eh? Too much heat combined with the stress of my wedding seemed to do me in. I was pretty weak the rest of the day and was running a fever, but I had to do my wedding dress rehersal. So, while everyone was standing around me rehersing I sat and watched from a chair haha. Makes a good story anyways right?

Day 4 was the wedding - refer to previous blog for details 😊

Day 5 - Since it was the first day of our marriage, Matt and I decided to get some alone time. My parents and everyone else took off to explore Volcanoes National Park while Matt and I enjoyed some time walking through town and having meals just the two of us.

Day 6 - Matts parents and sister Melina and her fiancee Mylon aswell as Jesse Kancir were leaving so everyone spent the morning at Hilo Hatties picking up some souvenirs together. We had a group lunch at Wendys before taking off to the airport with them. We were sad they had to leave while others were staying longer, but were glad they enjoyed there time here. They also had the longest trip home, all the way to Northern Ontario!

Day 7 was more goodbyes! Jim and Bev Klein, Ashley and Natalie Milne, my Aunty Penny, Marie Corke and Allison all had to leave for home. We went to the airport to drop some people off and say goodbye once again. We spent the rest of the day poolside with my family. I love when Ive been somewhere long enough to start to feel at home and I was definitely at that point again.

The last week we went back and forth to different beaches, explored some coffee shops, and did lots of shopping! Matt and I also spent a day at Volcano National Park. I wasnt sure originally that I wanted to do the 2.5 hour trip to get there, but since Matt hadnt been I felt it was an important thing to do! We visited the museum, walked through the lava tube and drive all the way down to the bottom where the lava flows into the ocean. The views were incredible and it felt great just to get out and explore nature one day. It always ends up being a highlight of the visit.

And now the sad part - OUR turn to go back home. I did not want to leave, I felt like I could have stayed for weeks! The only exciting thing was knowing that I was going home as a different person - a MARRIED person. We were going home to start our whole new lives together! It was time to get back to our NEW real life. But we know we'll be back to Hawaii again... hopefully sooner than later!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



2nd February 2010

Haaaaaaaawaiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!
What a nice place is Hawaii, I still can't belive we actually went there! Thank you so much for choosing Hawaii and especially thank you God for changing our plans in the first place! He surely knew what was best! A place never to be forgotten! It is very far for us, I don't know if we'll ever go again, we'll see! But it sure has a big place in my heart too now!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb