So far so good...or not!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Big Island » Kailua-Kona
December 21st 2006
Published: December 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all, well we arrived safe and sound after sitting on the runway for over an hour waiting for them to get the door shut. Seemed unable to lock not good for a trans pacific flight! So finally into Kona at about 11 pm home time and I take off with a sleepy Levi to get our mini van, which means I have left Rod and the remainder of the kids to get the luggage. Amazing it goes off without a hitch, Off we go to find our house on Alii Drive........unpack......kids are hopping excited.....midnight now.......we are missing a suitcase......off I go to the airport ......everyone is gone...except a sleepy security guard and he can't understand why I would leave a bag on the carousel....you know I was too tired to explain and just walked away. Now I think I am soooo smart and know my way around this little island and decide to take a shortcut and find myself trapped in all these twisting little deadend, speedbump ridden neighbourhoods.....an hour later I finally gegt home and my eyes are bugging out of my head, Goodnight I'll find that bag tomorrow. Kids are up at about 6 am local time, the sun is not up.......I am not too pleased too be up yet...lets find that bag. Load em up move em out RAWHIDE!!!! Get back to the airport, and its not that close I might add, about 20 minutes each way. They don't open until 10 am! "Slow down dis ain't da mainland" is ringing in my sleepy head Lets go feed the troops, sounds easy huh? Back to Kona and we end up at Walmart having McDonalds, well its something! We stock up on water shoes and some food. When we got home we unloaded the groceries and headed for the beach. The beach near our house is about six driveways down and has some pretty good snorkeling lots of turtles and fish. The kids really enjoy it and it is in a protected bay so you can get in and out of the water easily. Haven't seen any whales yet but watched an awesome sunset sitting on our Lanai. I made Mahi Mahi and prawns for dinner, so all in all we are having a great time. Oh by the way we went back to the airport for a third time and found out bag full of snorkel gear Talk to you soon, Hope you aren't too cold. Love Kellie and Family

Advertisement



22nd December 2006

Aloha
Hey Kellie, Sounds like an adventure!!! Nothing much happing in Whonnock. Everyones busy getting last minute Christmas shopping done. Do you have a phone # yet? Anyways miss you and your coffee. Have a KONA for me!! Merry Christmas to all your family. P.S. Sunblock baby and stay away from the emergency!!!! Mickey : )

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0889s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb