Preparing for the Trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia
August 26th 2015
Published: August 26th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Since I will be living in London for the whole fall semester, I've decided to start a travel blog. I'm participating in the Baylor in London FIE trip, which involves classes for the first half of the semester and an internship for the second half. I'm really excited, especially because I only have classes on Monday and Wednesday (which means both of those days are pretty packed, but I'm not complaining). I might use this blog a lot once I reach London, or I might not use it much at all. We'll just have to see. I haven't had a blog before, so please bear with me. Hopefully I'll figure this thing out. Shout out to Evan Haslund for giving me the inspiration to do this by blogging about his awesome cycling trip through Australia!

Right now, I'm just getting ready. I am about halfway packed, but I need to finish tomorrow because I leave Perry on Thursday. My first stop will be Georgia Tech, where I'll hang out with my brother and my friend Urmit. On Friday, I'll fly out of Atlanta and make by way back to the Wack (Waco for the uninformed). Finally, if everything goes according to plan, I will fly out to London on Tuesday, and the adventure will truly begin. I say "if everything goes according to plan" because I have not received my Visa application (including my passport) back from the British consulate yet. It has been approved, so they just have to send it back, but they have been incredibly inefficient so far in the process. If it doesn't make it back before I'm supposed to leave in Tuesday, I'm not really sure what will happen. The only thing I can really do at this point is pray and trust God that everything will work out.

So there you have it. I'll try to make more exciting blog posts once I'm actually in London. Depending on the availability of WiFi, I will probably try to live stream some of my experiences in Europe via the Periscope app, so follow me on there @JimmyM112 if you're interested in seeing those.

Adios, and Sic 'em Bears

Jimmy

Advertisement



26th August 2015

Praying for You
Jimmy, what a wonderful opportunity and an exciting adventure for you! Scott and I will be praying for you while you are there. Looking forward to reading your blog...if you so choose to use it :-)
27th August 2015

Thank you!
I really appreciate your prayers. Also, knowing that I have at least two readers will help motivate me to use the blog.

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb