Savannah, GA - makeup, post office stalking and a birthday party


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Savannah
November 13th 2015
Published: November 14th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Funny story, Kirby and I were on FSU's campus about two weeks ago watching his double bass instructor perform at his senior concert. We parked were we normally park in front of the sorority houses.
The concert was an hour and then we walked back to the car. Well, Mr. Kirby had forgotten to roll up his window so apparently someone walking by decided to stick their head in the window and rummage through our glove box and throw stuff around. The weird thing was my debit card was sitting on the middle console and they didn't take the checkbook from the glove box. I don't know what they were looking for.
Anyway, Kirby and I went about the night and I promise the poor boy learned his lesson. He is a pro at self punishment so I really didn't have to say anything.
Well, last night I figured out what else the clever little thief took. My makeup bag. Yes, it had been two weeks since I have put on makeup. So, the first order of business in the am was running up to Walgreens for some new makeup. I'd love to replace all my makeup I've accumulated from Sephoria over the years but since I don't have a bank loan handy and they aren't open at 6am and I need to get the kids to school 'ol Cover Girl will have to do.

After dropping the boys off I called the post office to see if there was any possible way that they could check to see if any packages would be delivered to my house. If so, could I pick them up from the office instead of having them delivered. They said, 'Sure, we will check. Call back at 8:30 am.'. Oh boy, oh boy, our shirts could come in after all. I text Heather to cross all fingers and toes.

I run by the bank, go get my replacement makeup from Walgreens and call the post office back at 8:31am. They said they are still going through the packages. They took down my number and told me they'd call me back. The thoughts of riding bikes in matching green shirts that say 'Est. 1975' (b/c that is the year Heather was born) run through my head. This could actually happen. Goodie, goodie, goodie! Is anyone impressed that the post office is actually answering my phone calls? I surely am!

I go by the 'free vacuum' place and clean out the car and get it washed. Every time we ever went anywhere growing up my dad would wash the car before we hit the road. EVERY TIME! So, I do the same when I know I am going to have company in the car. I don't know why I am cleaning the bugs off just to get more bugs on the car again but it's what we do. I'm vacuuming and watching my phone. Wiping the dash board with Armor All and watching my phone. Wiping the doors down and watching my phone. Quick run through the uber-expensive car wash and watching my phone.

I was in the neighborhood of the Centerville Post Office so I decided I'd just pop in and see if my new found friends had found any packages for me. The supervisor comes up and tells me that they have gone through each parcel and there were no packages to be delivered to my house. Wha, wha, wha...no shirts. 😞 I texted Heather and dashed her dreams of riding the streets of Savannah in matching shirts.

Del came to my house, we picked up Cheryl then we picked up Laura. Heather was already on the road from South Florida.

The ride to Savannah was fun. We talked, listened to music, read the latest magazines and grabbed a bite to eat.



The House

We met Heather at the Publix by the house we were renting and grabbed a few snacks.

The house is a cute as it can be. The only problem is that there is a big pink note on the door. Del walked up and looked at the note. Well apparently they have parking enforcement on this street or in the district and there is one car that has 197 unpaid parking citations. Holy Moly! Well, that isn't our tag so good luck to that fella. SO we look around the street and where we are parked there is a sign that you cannot park on this side of the street from Saturday 12 am - 4 am. Guess its for the street sweeper or something. Anyway, we unpack and start exploring the house.

The house is two stories with the living area and a half bath downstairs and then 2 bedrooms upstairs. One of the bedrooms has a queen bed and the other has twin beds. In the living room there is a pull out sofa. So everybody claims their space and we meet back up in the kitchen. Heather and I hand out our goodies bags and cups and then we just started to relax and talk and talk and talk.



Happy Pre-Birthday HPH

I brought a birthday cake from Tallahassee but the poor thing didn't make it unscathed. Oh well, it will eat.

We all sang happy birthday and gave her a few presents to open.

Yeah, not much to this portion of the story.



Dinner and Dueling Pianos

The walk down to Bay Street was about 15 minutes. We walked along the brick laid sidewalks and through a couple of squares (like miniature parks). As we walked down the sidewalk we looked at all the houses along the walk you noticed that everyone keeps their curtains open. I find this so odd. Everyone can see into your house and you aren't home. I don't get it.

There was one fancy house along the walk that our jaw dropped at. All the blinds were open so you could see the people moving around the house. It looked like a fancy party. The house was huge. It looked like it took up most of the block. It was so cool to see the hustle and bustle in the house. It was like a scene from the movies.

We ended up on Bay Street but we wanted to walk down by the river (queue the scene from Bridesmaids on the airplane where Annie is singing 'down by the riiivvverrr' - yeah, we might have said that a couple time - he, he). In order to get to the river you have to walk down stairs. Well, these aren't just any stairs. They are some sort of historic old stone stairs. Once you get down the stairs you end up on very rocky cobblestone. Note: don't wear untested shoes in Savannah.

There is a wine festival going on in Savannah this weekend so there were lots of people walking around with the festival wine glasses. We walked past the tents. Last year I went to the Destin Wine Festival and there were over 100 vendors at that festival. This one didn't look as big as the Destin one but it sounded like people were having just as much fun. 😊

There are shops that line the river. They have t-shirt shops, candy shops and all sorts of little shops. You could spend quite some time looking at all the shops. We hopped in a few but then decided it was time to eat.

We ate at a place called Barracuda Bob's. I had the Steak and Cheese sandwich. I have eaten a lot of steak and cheese sandwiches in my life and I have to say this one was pretty fine. The portion size was humungous. The fries were really good. They looked like real potatoes fries but I don't think they were fresh but I liked the flavor.

After dinner we roamed around and ended up at a place called Smiley's. It is a dueling piano bar. We love a dueling piano bar! Well, we loved going to Floyd's in our college years. We spent a couple of hours singing (ha - sure, let's call it that), dancing and laughing.

We left there and the wandered a different way home. We found a placed called City Market. There were lots of bars and places to eat in this section. It looked like it catered to a younger crowd so we just walked through and admired a few outfits.

We grabbed a slice of pizza and ate it as we walked back to the house.



I am glad we roamed around a little tonight. That helped me get my bearings on things and I think that will help me enjoy the bike tour tomorrow.



Later y'all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb