Settle for a Slow Down


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Savannah
February 4th 2009
Published: February 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Last night was lots of fun with lots of sleep to end it off with. I got up this morning, did the routine, and we headed for the venue. Craig called to tell us there was an accident on the freeway, so we’d need more time to take an alternate route. It was super warm yesterday. Ok, it was like 54 yesterday, but much nicer than we’ve been having. Today, my system was shocked to find it a mere 27 degrees outside! But it was really sunny!

Today’s venue is a gymatorium- you know, a gym with a stage in it. We were told that the local crew would be setting up lights and things while loading in our things. The lighting company turned out to be over an hour late, so nothing had been done. They had to pick a ton of points for truss and things, then hang it all, go somewhere else to get gel… Kyle and I ended up setting up his desk so he could get some work done. Between 10 and 1, when we thought we’d be done, all I did was read. I read almost 150 pages today though! (My new book is long!) Then we broke for lunch.

After lunch, I did some drafting and advancing and more reading. Then I fell asleep in the bleachers. I didn’t honestly think I’d sleep, and certainly not for 2 whole hours, but I was out like a light! By the time I woke up after 4, the truss was almost ready to move. We did focus- a guy rode the truss up to focus it. I’ve never seen that before. Then I was done again for the day. Wowsers.

Meanwhile, the bus broke down as they were loading up the kids at the house. Several hours later, somehow they got it going again, maybe with the help of a mechanic, I don’t really know, but the kids were aboud 5 hours late in getting into Savannah.

Sarah was a spaz today- super giggly. I had her laughing for at least 10 minutes straight. What did I do? Just look at her. She’s been being a punk to me all day, and then cowering away, knowing she deserves to be POUNCED! I haven’t done it yet, but soon I will get her back… just when she least suspects it.

Craig took us to dinner at Ruby Tuesdays, where we were less-than-ideal patrons; the server was fine, but everything was slow and we were starving! Oh well. We got the man fed. The evening ended up in my room, watching Band of Brothers with Kyle and Sarah. Laughing a bit and unpacking the day. I have great friends.

Let me just say, this is a great town and I’ve enjoyed all of it, but the water tastes like plastic! Here at the hotel and at the restaurant! Gross.

So, I’m reading this book about Brother Yun in China, and about all the endured for the Cross and spreading the Gospel. He was in prison for years and had all sorts of torture, oh my. But he was so hungry for the Word that he memorized a chapter of Scripture a day! Wow. I feel like sometime (oftentimes) I take it for granted, that I can just have a Bible and read it whenever and wherever I’d like. Because I have one, I don’t feel the need to memorize it, or even devour it as those in the underground Church do. These guys spend HOURS a day praying for the country and leaders and the Church in China, plus meditating on and learning Scripture. Many of them don’t know how to read, but learn to read it. Wow. What a testimony. I’m excited to finish this book (hopefully soon) and learn more.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 17; qc: 67; dbt: 0.151s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb