Georgia Porgia Pudden & Pie


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Savannah
November 29th 2007
Published: December 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

churchchurchchurch

The church of John the Baptist, my favourite baptist.
Decided there was just about enough to keep me occupied in Savannah for 2 full days, so made my stop here for 3 nights.

Had a much less eventful bus journey into toen today, one that took about half an hour less than yesterday. My first port of call was one of Savannah's many historic houses, Davenport House, built in around 1815, but renovated around 35 years ago. Being non peake season for tourists, I had my own personal tour guide who showed me round the house, and gave an insight into the way of life in that era.

Following this tour, I stopped for some lunch at a bakery recommended by the Lonely Planet, which turned out to be great apart from the vast amount of olives in the food. Then I wandered over to the cemetery to see where those kerazy Union soldiers had defaced the gravestones when they were camped there towards the end of the civil war.

After this, I paid a visit to the civil rights museum, which was interesting for its perspective on the changes in society in the southern USA in the 1950s and 1960s. Even more interesting where the Black
tombstonetombstonetombstone

Wait a minute - born in 1893, died in 1880? Why those kerazy Union soldiers!
Panther type guys who ran the place and didn't seem to want me to pay my admission fee. Maybe because I was a honky.

From here, I went on to the Savannah history museum, in which the exhibits appeared to be in no particular order. However, I did see the bench Forrest Gump sat on, wittering about boxes of chocolates, and there was also a very large hat exhibition, which thrilled me no end. The one thing I did learn however was that more US soldiers where hospitalised for VD than from battle wounds in the First World War. Wimps.

I tried in vain to find a coffee house after this which was annoying, though my indie sensibilities were pleased when I asked a girl in one of the shops where I could get a coffee and she replied "I guess you're not after a Starbucks", implying either I looked too poor or too cool for such a place.

Dinner was at Vinnie Van Go Go's pizza place, apparently a hang out for hip young scenesters in Savannah. Then on to Starbucks for a skinny latte.

Advertisement



3rd December 2007

I dunno, you cultivate an indie image with great success and end up going to Starbucks anyway... Still those Yankee soldiers may have been wimps, but they were obviously firebrands in the boudoir!

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb