set to go!...I hope


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Lawrenceville
December 31st 2005
Published: December 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Happy New Year!

Welcome to my blog...my first one. Exciting! Just wanted to keep you all up to date about my adventures in the next few weeks...let me know how you are doing as well, please 😊

Well, here I am getting ready to go on another journey out of the good ol' US of A. This time I'm heading south, way south...to Chile, one heck of a long country. Although I've never been, I hear that where I am going is quite beautiful...right on the beach in Valparaiso. I've been reading up on the Spanish used there... maybe somehow I will be able to magically skip the difficult language acclimation period...hmm, yeah right. Well, hopefully I'll get into the Chilean swing of things quickly. And I read a book by Isabel Allende called My Invented Country which was an interesting insight into the Chilean mind and culture. I can't wait to see what it's really like...I'll get a good taste of Chile in the 7 weeks that I'll be there.

And other great news...I went to the doctor in Greenville on Friday, and I am officially freed from all crutches, boots, and other contraptions that might hold me back. The stress fracture in my fifth metatarsal has healed well (with the help of a pretty big screw), and I'll be able to walk in Chile in real shoes! yes! Now it's just a matter of finding all of my left shoes...hmmm. We'll see if I can handle the 2-day adventure up a mountain in a few weeks, but first thing's first...I need to get used to walking on it between now and Wednesday when walking becomes my primary form of transportation.

The past few weeks of break have been wonderful...spending quality time with Mom, Dad, JC, and little Maggie (who isn't so little anymore). I got some books read, movies watched, letters written, and a foot healed...I'll be rested and ready for that flight on Tuesday night and the weeks that follow. It'll be a long 9 hour flight, but based on my history of fast snoozing, I'll sleep soundly for a good portion of that. Geez, and when I wake up, it'll be summer...now that will be weird.

So far, I haven't heard about the family that I'll be staying with, but I'm not too worried at all. My past home-stay experiences in Spain and Guatemala were wonderful so I'm hoping my luck will continue. As far as courses I'll be taking, there's just one: Community and Environmental Health. We'll be exploring the public health systems (water treatment, community clinics, etc) of Chile and comparing them to the United States and other surrounding countries. Because a masters degree in public health might be in my future, this trip will be perfect. While I'm there, I'll find a topic of interest and complete a big research paper on it when I return...I'll worry about that when I absolutely have to.

Ok, that's quite enough. I'll send an update within the next few weeks (hopefully with some pictures)...I hope everyone has a nice New Year's Eve/Day!

Hasta pronto,
Morgan

email me! morgan.jones@furman.edu or morgan_e_jones@yahoo.com













Advertisement



10th January 2006

¡hija! ¿pero dónde estás?
12th January 2006

?
amor de mi vida!! ¿Vives?

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb