M&M On the Move (Chapter 3)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta
April 22nd 2007
Published: April 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Our official moving day is finally here! We'll be getting on our plane in less than 15 hours and I'm way too excited to sleep...so I'm emailing instead 😊 I know it's been a while since our last "chapter" but honestly, not much has happened. We sat in Alabama for 2 months...although I took a little break and headed back up to Tennessee the last weekend in March. It all started with the fact that I needed one more haircut and just went from there lol. It really was a productive weekend...I closed out a savings account, met with our real estate agent (to date the house still hasn't sold, by the way), got my hair cut and highlighted, and figured out how to renew Matt's driver's license. To get our driver's license to drive in Germany our licenses here in the States have to be valid for the entire time we're there. Well, Matt's was due to expire in March of '08...but they wouldn't let us renew it before we went to Alabama because it has to be less than one year until it expires before Tennessee will let you renew. AHHHHHGGGG!!! What a headache! But, after lots of time waiting in line and on the phone I discovered that they have a special drivers license in Tennessee called a Code 30 license that's specifically for military and it won't expire while they're active duty (so for those of you who are active duty this is a good thing to know!).

We had some bad weather and Matt's instructor had to leave unexpectedly for an emergency appendectomy so he fell behind in flight hours. He was supposed to be done with his course on Friday, April 13th but didn't end up being able to leave until Tuesday, April 17th. We had plans to head down to Orlando on Saturday for about a week so that was a bit inconvenient but Matt drove down with the boys and I anyways and spent the weekend. Then he just rented a car to drive back to Alabama for two days and headed back to Orlando. The reason for the trip was Matt's brother Charlie was getting married there. In addition to the wedding, which was absolutely beautiful (I'll be loading the pictures on our online photo album soon) we were able to spend time at Busch Gardens in Tampa and at Disney as well. We also got to do indoor skydiving!!! It wasn't exactly skydiving...you go in a wind tunnel that simulates it but it was SO much fun!

And where were the boys during all of this? They were playing at the V.I.Pet Resort in Orlando 😊 They stayed there from Saturday until Friday and then we picked them up and headed up to Atlanta for the weekend. We then dropped them off at the Pet Lodge in Alpharetta, which was rated one of the top 10 places to leave your pet by the Travel Channel (I know...I'm pathetic), and they're hanging out there until morning. We'll pick them up from there and head to the airport where we get to try and figure out how we're getting 2 dogs, 2 dog crates, 5 suitcases, an Army duffel, 2 laptop cases, a backpack and ourselves to the check-in counter lol. We have a battle strategy but I'll fill you in later what we actually end up doing.

So, we're off! I'm sure we'll have lots of adventures to write about and I can never keep track of who I email each time I send these so I've created a Blog to keep track of them all. I'll send out an email when there's a new entry but in case I miss someone you'll be able to keep up with us anyways. We don't have a mailing address yet but when we get one I'll send out moving announcements to everyone. In the meantime, wish us luck with checking in at the airport and getting everything through immigration tomorrow 😊 I'll write again soon!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb