Road Trip Day 4


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Tallahassee
July 10th 2009
Published: July 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The closest we've comeThe closest we've comeThe closest we've come

to actually seeing an alligator on the trip.
Today's drive was much more enjoyable for the pilot. We left I-95 after an hour and have been taking state highways through Georgia and Florida that provide interesting scenery and velocity changes to keep Vincenzo from falling into a monotonous drone. The intermittent downpours also spice things up a bit. The navigator's day is nearly fulfilled at having spotted a wild boar grazing in the “soft-shoulder”, an armadillo whose vital signs were questionable, a fox the size of a gazelle fleeting across the road, and many flocks of white herons. I still want a 'gator but I can wait till Friday when my AAA book PROMISES me a gator sighting. We were warned against swimming in the swampy water at the Florida Caverns State Park campsite because of the gators, but I was dubious of their presence. Campgrounds next to gator swamps? I bet the sign was just to get us excited.

The only thing of note that happened in Florida was that a giant flying monster flew into my face and when I screamed and batted it away, I knocked out one of my earrings, a precious stone from Francesca! Then it started to pour and I ran inside
DownpourDownpourDownpour

but sunny?
away from the bugs and the rain. Vincenzo miraculously found the earring, in the dirt, in the dark, and in the rain WHILE barbecuing sweet potatoes and pork. What a guy.

The bugs were loud and enormous, the thunder and rain was frightening, and the campsite was WAY out there far away from our route. But we still had fun and adventures in Marianna, Florida.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

And sunny...And sunny...
And sunny...

but not for long!
Finally, a Wal-Mart!Finally, a Wal-Mart!
Finally, a Wal-Mart!

You hate them and hate seeing them takeover your town, and yet for the entire state of Georgia we could not find one when we needed it.
Georgia PeachesGeorgia Peaches
Georgia Peaches

someone in Darien, GA's publicity trick worked. After reading a dozen red painted signs clandestinely placed along the forest in the highway, I just HAD to get off at that exit for those peaches.


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb