Jawfish fanning eggs.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Riviera Beach
December 7th 2012
Published: December 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

One of the rules of underwater photography is to take a test shot after you set up your gear. Well. I skipped that step and I tested my camera just before the dive to find out that I put an empty battery in it. Very amateur. Lucky there was half empty one in the box of spares in the car and I could take about a 100 shots in my dive. I just had to pick and choose my shots. I headed south just off the parking lot and I saw a school of fish completely messing up the great viz. I dove around the rocks. There was lots of life. Lots of fish everywhere and lots of action. I saw at least 6 of redish seahorses around the same area and 4 of them very close to each other. One of them looks pregnant. Nudis, jawfish and one of them with a mouth so full of eggs it couldn’t even close it. I laid on a sandy spot and watched it fight the wrasses that where swiming around it would try to close its mouth to protect the eggs from the evil fish and some times it would fan the
Red seahorseRed seahorseRed seahorse

I saw a few today
eggs right after to accommodate the clusters of eggs. Adorable. This time I got a few shots here is one of them. It was a chill dive.

I need to fix the spring for the shutter release to my housing every dive is getting harder and harder to use it.

12 ft 162 min 78oF


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb