Florida trip - winter 2011/2012


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » New Smyrna Beach
December 5th 2011
Published: December 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

Well, Jim and I are on winter vacation in Florida again this year. We left Saturday morning at about 7 am and made it to Martinsburg, West VA Wal-mart for the 1st night. The trip was fairly smooth, but not totally without incident. While on the road, our self-locking (while in motion) refrigerator decided to unlock and out 'flew' a gallon size Rubbermaid plastic container, filled with water. It fell onto the kitchen floor and a piece of the plastic actually broke right out of it and water all over the floor. I didn't know Rubbermaid could break like that. Obviously, we needed to find a place to 'pull over' until we had it all mopped up!!

The 2nd day, Sunday, was fairly smooth and we made it to Lumberton, NC Wal-Mart without incident.

The 3rd day, Monday (today)...well......we were on the road for about an hour....decided to 'top' off our tank. I got out of our Motorhome to make sure Jim pulled far enough forward to reach the pumps....in doing so, I was paying attention to where the pumps were and where the Motorhome was, and not to the advancing car in tow. The car and trailer that it was on, ran right over my foot, the one I just had surgery on Oct. 11!!! I spent the remainder of the ride with my foot up and putting ice on it off and on. We did make it to our Dec. destination (a day early)....but I am in some pain and my foot is swollen and kinda blueish in color. I will stay off it as much as possible tonight and give it more ice off and on and see what it looks (and feels) like tomorrow.....hopefully it will just get better from now on.

Will send a new 'report' when something new comes up....just wanted you all to know we made it here ok (well kinda).

Love always,

Linda

Advertisement



Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 67; dbt: 0.093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb