Spring Training, Day 5


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Lakeland
January 30th 2014
Published: January 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Lucky us, we actually got some baseball in today before the rain started....

I headed over to the training room at about 7:30 this morning for some heat on my back...strained on Thursday before I headed to camp. After the heat, Steve, the guy who does the Dominican and Venezuela camps worked with me. He is into pressure points and all sorts of stuff and after about 20 minutes had me feeling like a new man...I need to get my own personal trainer! OK, not really, but what a treat to have someone who knows how your muscles work figure out how to get you up and going.

Then over to the batting cages. Lucky me again, I got in line with Johnny Grubb who is one of the nicest human being I have ever had the opportunity to meet. After a few pitches he came over to me and pointed out how to hit a ball with back spin which, as you will see, paid off later. I have to say that the guy, who had no need to do so, made me feel like I was the only person in the place. He patiently held a bat with me, showed me what I was doing incorrectly, and then let me hit until I drilled a few.

Much to everyone's surprise, we were told to head to the fields at 9 a.m. even though it had rained and more was threatening. We were the home team this morning and after a one, two, three first we came to bat and put three runs on the board. Not to last. Our pitcher, while he could throw strikes, also threw some pretty fat pitches and many were slammed into the outfield for solid singles and more than a few doubles. After two we were down 4-3. I came to bat for the first time in the third with one out. On a 3-2 pitch I ripped, yes, ripped, a solid single to left center. But then was stranded at third when no one else could produce a hit.

In the third a fly ball to right with one out was dropped and the runner on first thought he could leg out getting to home. I ran out to right, caught the relay throw, and threw him out at home. One of several opportunities I had which include an unassisted put out at second on a force, and tag out on a run down between second and third (Steve Kemp claimed we look like Trammel and Whitaker on the play--he is a liar and paid to do so), and turned a double play grabbing the throw from third to second and then throwing the runner out at first. (Oh, I play second, by the way.)

In the fifth, trailing 10-4, I drew a walk with one out (I only batted twice, so I hit 1.000 today). The batter behind me hit a shot toward short that I was sure would reach the outfield and I wanted to get to third. Half way to second the short stop, much to everyone's amazement, caught the liner. I raced back to first and with a head first slide was in safe...and as I laid there I realized both hands, my jaw, and my knees hurt. Later, Mike Maroth our coach, told me he was sure I would be out because he didn't think I would slide. I asked him what he thought of the slide and he said, "I've see worse....ever seen Prince Fielder try and slide?" No matter, we lost and my team is 0-3.

Unfortunately, 45 degrees and rain meant no game tonight (we were to play under the lights at Henly Field where the earlier Tiger camps were held with Ty Cobb and other greats). And the 2" of rain we received today probably means no baseball tomorrow either. We did spend the evening having a couple of beers with our coach Mike Maroth hearing about his trip up to the majors and what players go through. It was a real treat.

Some other random notes:

Saw Bruce Rondon on the way to the batting cages today, gave him the old fist bump and told him I hoped he had a great year. He actually said 'thank you.'

At lunch today I was eating and looked up and there was Al Kaline, for you non baseball fans you should know he is revered as the best Tiger ever. Of course there is this unwritten rule...you do not approach Mr. Kaline and you wait for him to come to you. But he was there.

My son Michael has corrected an earlier blog. Justin Verlander was/is dating Kate Upton, not Kate Moss.

Finally, since there are no photos with this blog, I thought I would answer the question that several of you have asked...why did I choose #20 with a video link. If you follow this link,
, you sill see a video of one of my favorite Tigers and a guy who just simply loved this game.

Advertisement



30th January 2014

Way to go George!
George, what a game! Sorry about all the rain but you should know we canceled a week of school up here just so you wouldn't miss anything. I wish there was video of all your fun, I would lovel to revel in your rip, your assist to home, the double play and your slide back to first. Wow, the old man and I are way jealous! --sam

Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb