Tour: Museum & Butterflies


Advertisement
Published: March 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The butterflies flew past us, The butterflies flew past us, The butterflies flew past us,

and several times they landed on one of us, or we saw them on someone else. It was quiet, and had the smooth sounds of water flowing and birds chirping....must be kind of like heaven!

(Park of the Palms)

Our tour today was to the University of Florida Museum of Science and Natural History. We learned more about the Florida Everglades (for instance, they are the only everglades in the world, and the only place on earth where alligators and crocodiles live together peacefully.) It was hugely interesting, and I know I couldn’t add a description that could relay that to you, so I’m going to move on to the part in pictures.

After lunch we went to the butterfly house, right at the University. This had five thousand butterflies inside a room about 50’ x 50’, and 30’ high. The top 1/3 of the room, as well as the ceiling, was screen, so it was open to the weather. There were approximately 5,000 butterflies in there! Also some birds flying around, as well as chicks, and a stream was threading through it, which had fish and turtles in. The butterflies were flying around us, sitting near us, and just everywhere. It was magical. There were so many kinds to see, and so much going on that in the hour we were in there I felt like I’d barely gotten a glimpse of
These were some of the largestThese were some of the largestThese were some of the largest

butterflies we saw; they would fly around us, as well as landing on nearly anything white. (hair included!!) They were more than beautiful...
them! When we got home Bob said something about the birds in the room, and I had not seen them, except for the chicks! Nor did I have time to appreciate all the trees and flowers. (That happens on tours~~sometimes we’re at places that aren’t all that interesting to us~~although I can’t really think of one!~~ and there’s plenty of time, and then we’re at places like that museum and I didn’t have enough time in the museum or the butterfly house! But for some people we were there way too long!) They have a butterfly lab where they go into detail on the cocoons and how they get the butterflies, etc. They also have a live release on the weekends, where they release the butterflies from the lab; our plan is to go for one of the releases, but by this stage of the project I get nervous about time going too quickly.

Ron and Rose returned this week. They met us for the tour (they’d been spending a couple days with Rose’s sister in Florida) and then came to the park on Saturday. We are so thankful to have them back, and they are as thankful to
Here's a picture where you canHere's a picture where you canHere's a picture where you can

see the blue inside and the brown outside!
be here. I know it’s been healing for us personally, and for us as a team.

I’m not going to do revisions on this post (I hear you saying you’re surprised to learn I’ve ever done them!) because I want to get it posted and then introduce you to our project. So here goes….



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

He was so black that he almost looked purple!He was so black that he almost looked purple!
He was so black that he almost looked purple!

I worked hard to get a shot of this one in the sunlight...when I tried to take one in the shadow my camera couldn't find him to focus on! He looked so soft!
It was hard to get a shot It was hard to get a shot
It was hard to get a shot

of his wings open, and even though they're exactly the same pattern closed, I wanted them open. It looks like he has some yellow on him, but actually he's just black and white~~very striking. (I didn't see the second butterfly until I look at this picture!)
I like this picture because it I like this picture because it
I like this picture because it

looks like you can see the screen through his wings! The screen covered the top quarter of three of the walls, as well as the ceiling.
Who knew geckos came in black!Who knew geckos came in black!
Who knew geckos came in black!

And even they look soft!
I have to have a title, and I'm out of descriptive words!I have to have a title, and I'm out of descriptive words!
I have to have a title, and I'm out of descriptive words!

But I can tell you that it smelled really really good in there!
This one is way prettier than he looks, This one is way prettier than he looks,
This one is way prettier than he looks,

because he's a neon green. All the colors were brilliant, but this one was especially so. He was another one that I had a hard time getting a picture of with his wings open. They close their wings when they're eating, and the only time I saw this kind they were eating!
The butterflies  had no problem The butterflies  had no problem
The butterflies had no problem

landing on the rails or the paths where people were walking, or on people themselves! And they weren't spooked by people.
I also have a number of pictures like this.I also have a number of pictures like this.
I also have a number of pictures like this.

I can assure you there was a butterfly there when I pressed the shutter!!


11th March 2009

I like it!
Beautiful, Beautiful Beautiful!!!!
11th March 2009

Beautiful
I think you are probably going to start making your own greeting cards!! Something you can do in your spare time;) We are setting in 5 below this a.m. so the pictures give us hope for spring. Love and prayers Bev
11th March 2009

What beautiful pictures! I've never seen a black butterfly before! P.S. When are you coming home?
12th March 2009

Hi, Patti!
Aren't they awesome? All so pretty, and all so different!
12th March 2009

Hi, Sar!
Ok, as I understand it you're sitting at 43 below again, I'm watching butterflies, and you wonder when I'm coming home?! Come on spring! I love you, though!
13th March 2009

Award Winning
Everyone of your pictures would qualify for an award. They are beautiful, so wonderful that you could see them close up. Yes I think it is a great idea for you to use them as cards. love Lois
14th March 2009

Hi, Lois!
I'm glad you're enjoying them~~they were so gorgeous. We've missed you on projects this winter. :(
16th March 2009

WOW!
Our butterflies are really easy to catch, especially in the morning -before it gets up to 0.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb