Key Largo, Montego baby why don't we go...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Keys
May 18th 2006
Published: May 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Take a look at all those smiling people on my SCUBA trip in the gorgeous sun!
Okay that's a total lie...I have no idea who any of those people are, and courtesy of my schnazy water proof camera not working, I have no pictures. But they may be for the better, so I'll paint you one...

Miami area is gorgeous literally until we get on the plane in Raleigh. Then a huge storm hits, keeping us on the ground for several hours both in Raleigh and Miami. We finally find our hotel in Key Largo sometime after 1:00 am, having started the two hour flight process around 4:45. I hoped that the huge storm got all the bad weather out of the system for two pretty days of our first time diving in open water. But pretty typical of my luck, and about 12:45, 15 minutes before we were to get on the boat, it starts raining. And raining. And raining. Then thundering, then some lightening. Add waves that were a good 5-6 feet and lots of college kids hanging over the edges wishing they hadn't eaten that big lunch that just came back up, and you have all the
Me and my dive buddy ShaeMe and my dive buddy ShaeMe and my dive buddy Shae

Notice the sun is finally out. But we're much prettier in this picture than we were on the boat anyways.
pictures you need of my trip.

Luckily it was much nicer under water, and apparently lightening in the middle of the ocean is no concern. Or so they told us. I wasn't too convinced about this whole SCUBA diving thing until the last dive on Wednesday, where we had finished all the skills and just got to explore the Benwood; a neat shipwreck from WWII that had lots and lots of fish and sea creatures. And go figure that no more than five minutes after we got off the boat on the last day, the skys were clear and beautiful. But hey, I guess we got the worst diving conditions we'll ever have out of the way and still had some lazing by the pool time in the sun.

I stuck around in Key Largo until the next morning before heading on to Trinidad. Also not too convinced of any excitement there...we were told it was the "old people's key" and looking around, we were the only people who didn't get senior discounts at the all you can eat buffet. But I adapted nicely and was passed out by 11:30 each night, and that was with a nap. So I guess I can't really complain.

Advertisement



22nd May 2006

yes!
Lovin' this entry and of course the accompanying picture. My favorite part of this entry is us falling asleep....you forgot to mention all we did was watch reruns of every horrible show on MTV, though.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb