American Booty: Welcome to the East Coast


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Fort Lauderdale
September 25th 2006
Published: September 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I’m sorry, Readers. I just wasn’t up to writing anything yesterday or last night. Its past midnight and I’ve just gotten into Fort Lauderdale. The plane flight had me sleeping, even with a little girl in the aisle down from me singing Itsy Bitsy Spider all flight long. Earlier, I had to check out of the Americana as Brooke’s Contiki bus was leaving at 10.30am. I really didn’t have any other business hanging around. Later on, I was at Las Vegas’ airport and I wanted to check in but I had to wait until midday before I could do anything with my bags. Once in I found the lounge and tried to sleep, but couldn’t. I rang my Dad back home and he was happy to hear from me, since I tried on Friday night and no one was even home! They must have been partying on for me.

The cab driver from Fort Lauderdale airport tells me he hates his job - there’s just not enough money in it. He asks me what I’m doing in Fort Lauderdale. Well, Mr Cab Driver (and Readers), I’m here to see a long time friend, Vanessa. Yes, it’s true we had a bit of romance ages ago but time has passed and I’m finally going to meet her. Nowadays, she’s happily found romance with an old friend of hers, Ishmael and working hard in some office job. The cab driver is asking me many questions and I got lost in between some of the answers because we’re driving up Ocean Blvd. I’m staring out into the Atlantic Ocean, a body of water I haven’t been in or seen.

I get into the hostel really late but at least there’s a night watch dude on. I really can’t think of anything I want more than more sleep. It doesn’t matter if I’m on East Coast time now, all I want is bedtime.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0701s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb