Our New African Adventure 2023!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Fort Lauderdale
October 10th 2023
Published: October 19th 2023
Edit Blog Post

NOTE TO ALL:

I am so sorry but I am having technical problems with my travelblog website. I can't upload photos so here is my first travel blog with only 1 photo. I will try another website and let you know if I continue with my travelblog. I may just do a couple of posts along the trip on Facebook. Once again - Sooo Sorry!




Fort Lauderdale… or Wilton Manors actually!



After a 24-hour grueling flight from Nanaimo to Fort Lauderdale, we arrived safely and exhausted into the Fort Lauderdale airport! An 8-hour layover in Vancouver was followed with a 3-hour layover in Toronto! But there was a bright moment as we saw a stunning sunrise as we raced through Toronto airport trying to get through US customs in time! We needed that 3 hour layover as we barely made it through and caught our final flight!



We stayed at “The Cottage in Wilton Manors” a beautifully decorated cottage set in a gorgeous garden with a lovely pool. Large enough for me to do laps and warm enough for Darold to actually get in and stay in!!!



Wilton Manors is a city of 13,000 nestled in Fort Lauderdale. It is an island that is surrounded by the man-made canals on all sides. It is very gay and has incredible restaurants, stores and amenities. It is such a fun place which is why it is now popular with the rest of the community who have driven prices up to a level that the gays can’t afford to live here and the gentrification continues.



Our hosts were Harvey and Bill and Michael. Lovely people who made us feel very welcome and generously made sure our stay was fun and fabulous. We even got to meet their cat, Spook who had orange nails – all ready for Halloween! After Halloween it will be Christmas Claus!



Today we boarded the Zuiderdam (Holland America Line) for our 73 day cruise that circles the continent of Africa! This is my first blog of this trip and my next one won't be for another week as we take 7 days to cross the Atlantic to the Canary Islands, Spain! More to come!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb