Travels with Snowbirds 2012 Eustis FL


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Eustis
February 23rd 2012
Published: February 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Thursday February 23, 2012

Another beautiful day here in FL. A little Windy today, but otherwise gorgeous.

All were talking about last night’s rain. No one suffered any damage, but lots of water everywhere.

Thursday’s is Flea Market at the Lake County Fair Grounds, right next door to this ‘resort’. There is even a gate in the bordering fence which gets opened on flea market days so you don’t have to walk around. Me and my S & K rolling bag were there at 8:15. It was quite different and much smaller than the other flea markets I have been to here. There were 2 indoor buildings, and 4 long rows of vendors outside. Too bad I was there at 8:00 in the morning, if I had known there was going to be so much good food I would have waited until lunch. There was awesome pizza breakfast bread, fried shrimp and fried chicken, sausage sandwiches, but I was good and only had one great apple fritter. There were many produce vendors, still with the large strawberries from Plant City, oranges, enormous cantaloupe, great looking thin asparagus. I bought a lace curtain for my master bath at home, $8, and 2 Florida T shirts, $5 for the 2, one ear of corn, $.35, and chemical for my black water holding tank, $8.

This is one campground I really could have used a bicycle at. While I am close to the hub, there are some very long and very pretty looking streets that it would be nice to ride around. I heard there was an alligator sunning himself at one of the ponds, but it was too far to walk to get the great picture, after all the walking I did at the flea market. I see one man walking around with 3 very old grayhounds

I heard from Ginnie, and her friend who was visiting left yesterday; today was the first day she has been alone since George passed, and I think she had too much time to think and she was sad. She heard from the vet, and he still has no idea why George started to bleed. The results for the test that determine if George had that Syndrome Doberman’s get where they bleed came back ‘high normal’, so it wasn’t that. The vet took samples of his stomach and sent them to pathology, and I pray Ginnie gets some answers, as she will not find peace until she does. She was touched when I told her how many of my readers sent their condolences, and asked me to thank you all, even tho she doesn’t know most of you.

Tonight was Bingo! I really am turning into an old lady, right? $5 got me more cards than I could play. They use reusable cards with chips, and a nice lady loaned me an extra set. She had special chips. They are clear colored plastic with a metal rim. There is a magnet wand that nicely picks them up after the game is over and you push them off into their container to be ready for the next game. I had more fun playing with the magnets than I did playing bingo, but my neighbors are trying to keep me busy, and introducing me to everyone, and, silly as it is, I am having fun. I came within 1 number of winning the ‘fill all’ game, big prize of $26. There were about200 people there, mostly women, but a good number of men as well. Nice people at my table, many have been wintering here for years and years and years. One man, 93, made fudge to share. He must have been some looker when he was younger; at 93 he still is a good looking man.

After the last game, they asked for volunteers to help put the tables and chairs away, and I was surprised how many people didn’t help. If everyone just picked up and folded the chair they were sitting in and put it on the rack, the job would have been done. I helped, and had fun meeting new people again.

AND, the good news is, Winston was sleeping in his crate when I got home.

Tomorrow one of my neighbors has some chores to do, bank, post office, Walmart, and she asked me to tag along with her. Yup, these are really nice people here.

Kat out

Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1043s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb