Jim and Michael Colyer in Florida


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Daytona Beach
January 4th 2008
Published: January 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Michael and I left for Daytona Beach on July 15, 2001. We had 5 days together. That was the main thing, father and son sharing an experience. I wanted Michael to see Florida as kids in his age group have. We went to the beach and got in the ocean. Michael bought a board which he surfed on. We collected shells at night. We saw crabs in the sand. We stood on the balcony and watched the waves. Storm clouds rose. It rained. We drove over to Orlando. Michael got tee shirts at the Hard Rock Cafe. We drove south to the Kennedy Space Center. We took the tour. It consisted of the Space Shuttle, Apollo program and International Space Station. We went to Cocoa Beach. Michael got a tee shirt from Hooter's. A girl signed it, "To a cutie from a hottie." We saw where they run the Daytona 500, the track on which Dale Earnhardt died. We stayed 4 nights in the hotel and were together almost constantly. There was stress, but overall it went well. It is apparent Michael wants a relationship with me and is willing to make an effort. The trip was for him, not to indulge myself at the Space Center. We got reacquainted. We are best friends.

Summer, 1973 - Deland, Florida
I flew to Florida to cut a record in a studio in Deland. At least, I was doing something.

March, 1969 - Miami, Florida
I went to Miami with Kerry Goodall. I drove his Firebird a piece even though it was not an automatic. We stayed with Kerry's sister and went fishing in a boat off the coast with her husband.

December, 1968 - Daytona Beach, Florida
The 4th trip with my parents and sister. Nothing new.

1961,1962,1963 - Florida
We made family trips to Florida. We became acquainted with the white sands of Daytona Beach. We saw Saint Augustine, America's oldest city, and the old Spanish fort, Castillo de San Marcos.

We drove on to Miami and Lake Okeechobee in 1962.

In 1963, Jean Adair, my first girl friend, went with us. John Kennedy was president, and I was naive to a fault. Little did I know the coming years would bring the assassination of Kennedy, The Beatles, long hair, Vietnam War, race riots, police brutality, women's liberation, drugs, Woodstock, men on the moon, hippies, Jesus Freaks, homosexuals, Watergate and the resignation of Richard Nixon. I survived.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 16; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0875s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb