another flat


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Crestview
January 22nd 2011
Published: January 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today is Saturday, and we started our ride two weeks ago. Yesterday we had a following wind and today was just the opposite. The wind was 10 - 15 mph all day long. This constant wind just drains the strength from your legs. Part way in the morning we met a young man named Ashton. He lives in L A and is going to Miami. He was on the lookout for us. It seams he ran into Eric and Lily and they told him of us. Later we found this nice cafe called Lily's, she serves breakfast all day long. I had 2 2 2 which is two pancakes, two eggs and two bacon. This was a welcome break from the wind. The temp didn't get over 55' all day, and with the wind I kept my jacket zipped up as well. We were keeping a close eye on our odometer. We have ridden 500 miles today. I stopped by Wal-Mart earlier in the day and bought some sidewalk chalk. We must have looked like some morons on the side of the road writing on it and taking some pictures. This was a milestone, well actually a 500 milestone. When we arrived to Crestview and trying to find our motel I noticed Bob's front tire looked a little low and I mentioned it to him. When we arrived to the room his front tire was flat. This is flat number five for him on our trip so far, a personal record. Our friend Mike who we had ridden with some called and offered to send Bob a tire in the mail, he had been following along with my blog. We have plans on stopping in Pensacola on Tue and Bob is planning on buying two tires and three tubes and some tire boots and patches. We have plans on staying two nights here. We will go to church in the morning and I hope to cacth a movie in the afternoon. We ordered in our meal from Pizza Hut. I was hungry and cleaned my plate and some. After I ate Bob invited me over to his room and play on my dulcimer. I had been trying to call the church to see what time they started and to see if I could play in their service. All I got was a message machine. Bob called and appeared to get someone. He explained who we were and that one of our group wanted to play the dulcimer. He then asked me to talk with then to explain what I was hoping to do. When I got the phone I said " Hi this is Keith..." What I heard was " To speak to the youth minster please press 3" Bob you turkey! We road a total of 31 miles today.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0996s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb