The Washington Monument


Advertisement
Published: June 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

During my Washington trip on June 17th we visited the Washington Monument. I had not been to this historic part of the United States in many many years. I seem to have forgotten how majestic the view from the Lincoln Memorial is after climbing the steps, turning and looking out over the Mall. WOW, the view is spectacular, but more than that even, when you look into the water and see the reflection of the already magnificent monument, it really does take your breath away. I asked my daughter if she minded if we just sat on the steps of the Lincoln and drank in the view for a while; and not just because I needed to catch my breath from climbing all of those steps. 😊 We then preceeded into the Lincoln Memorial to visit Abe. I read his first state of the Union address and then I read his second in its entirty, something that I had not done in years, maybe never. The tone of the two addresses is so dramatically different, I could not help but feel his pain while reading the second address. Our nations capitol is truly an awesome place to visit, but for some reason I forgot that. A magical place that really makes you proud to be an American. Maybe not because of our current government, but because of all of the history and all that has come before us. I am planning on another trip to DC this summer for an entire weekend as one day simply was not enough. I think it is soooo important to remember...................

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb