Washington - Day 2


Advertisement
Published: November 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Hostel



Normally I wouldn't talk about the hostel, but I needed to get this out there. After getting home late last night, I figured I could get some well deserved sleep. Wrong! The guy sleeping underneath me, in the bunk bed, was snoring so loud I thought I was going to put a pillow over his head...lol. Note to self: Bring ear plugs for sleeping. Well, at least breakfast will be good in the hostel. The breakfast in the New York hostel was exactly what I wanted, so, I'm looking forward to getting the same thing here. I head down to the cafeteria and they are serving a buffet breakfast. Buffet Breakfast? What the hell? Where are the bagels and eggs? Hmmmm, this wasn't what I was expecting. Oh well, beggars can't be choosers and I don't have time to go looking for a breakfast place. Note to self: scout the restaurants near the hostel before exploring the city. So, here I am eating my hearty breakfast of brown bread with peanut butter, canned fruit and a glass of orange juice. I think I'm going to be hungry later...lol.

The Smithsonian



It's another hot, beautiful day in Washington. I like this weather 😊. I head down to the National Museum of Natural History. I'm a little early and need to wait 30 minutes for the museum to open. A lineup begins to form and I'm hoping that the wait won't be longer than 5 minutes. We will see...lol. The museum is amazing and well worth seeing; everything from dinosaurs to the Hope Diamond. I end up spending three and a half hours in the museum. I meet up with Natalie and we head to the Air and Space Museum. Looking through this museum, I'm sure Gord and Rob would get a kick out of seeing all the old airplanes. After a short walk through the museum, we decide to head to the Holocaust Memorial Museum. It's a very large museum and it takes a little more than two hours to walk through it. It's a very somber and depressing place, but well worth seeing. I learned a lot about the Holocaust from going to that museum.

Dinner


After the Holocaust museum, we head for dinner and Natalie starts limping. It turns out, her high heels are killing her and they have been bothering her since we left the Air and Space museum. Women! What can you do? At least she came to her senses and agreed to go shoe shopping. We ended up getting her a pair of flip-flops and eventually make our way to the Diner. I have Chipotle Baby Back Ribs and a side of Macaroni & Cheese...my diet is shot already, so, why not? The ribs and mac & cheese are amazing. If I was staying another night, I would go back to that restaurant in a heart beat. Note to self: get a local to take me to a good restaurant


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

MeMe
Me

Waiting for a train.


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 27; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb