An Update...and a New Adventure


Advertisement
Published: October 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Healy HallHealy HallHealy Hall

Georgetown University Commencement Day: May 17, 2008.
Hello friends! It's been quite a while since I posted anything on my blog. Sorry for the extended absence. For those of you who aren't aware, the intervening time was spent back at Georgetown University finishing up my degree in Science, Technology & International Affairs (Energy & Environment concentration). I was even able to throw in a minor in International Development. I graduated summa cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa, Class Marshall on May 17, 2008, and now, degree in hand, I'm off to tackle the "real world." Well, maybe that's misleading...

To be truthful, I'm taking the scenic route to a real career and moving to Colorado for six months to be a ski bum!!!! (no joke)

Everybody laughs in disbelief (and envy, I think) when I tell them I'm forgoing the typical post-graduation job search experience for a season on the ski slopes of Colorado. With the economy sliding the way it has been, this is looking like a better and better decision! I WILL put my hard-earned degree to good use (eventually) but first I need some time off. Since skiing is what I love to do more than anything else, I'm following in my mother's footsteps
Liska Family Liska Family Liska Family

This is my family - and my grandfather, Joe Liska, who all shared one of the best days of my life with me.
and moving West.

Until today, I had no idea what resort I would be at because I didn't have housing. Happily, however, I just found a place this morning and am in the process of sending out my first and last month's rent. (Ouch). I'll be living in Breckenridge, midway up Peak 7, in a home shared with an Australian couple and a high school friend of mine, Steve. I just found out that Steve was coming last week, which was super-exciting and makes it much less daunting than heading out alone. (Which was the previous plan). I'll arrive in Denver on Nov. 6, and head to the mountains that weekend. That's when the interesting blogs and pictures should really begin!

Just to fill you in on some other details, however, I spent the summer of '08 working in DC after graduation. Two weeks at home in late May convinced me that I couldn't be idle for a whole summer, so I applied for (and got) an full-time internship at the World Resources Institute, an environmental think tank where I interned senior year. (www.wri.org) I totally loved my time at WRI and made a ton of friends who
The Graduate The Graduate The Graduate

Happy happy happy
are very hard to leave behind. Being at WRI showed me that there IS "life after Georgetown" and, moreover, that it's pretty great! I was working on climate & energy issues in the Southeastern United States within the Climate & Energy Program, which was right up my alley. I lived in a townhouse in Columbia Heights with 3 people who I found on craigslist, and that also worked out great. I consider myself a very lucky girl to have everything fall into place so nicely. In mid-July, I decided to get a waitressing job on the side so that I'd have some experience for Colorado, where I hope to hold down a couple part-time jobs that give me the daylight hours to ski. So from July to mid-October I worked part-time at the Elephant & Castle Pub and Restaurant downtown at Federal Triangle. I had great co-workers there, too, and discovered that I like being a server. It was a relaxed, family-friendly restaurant with lots of tourist traffic and business lunches, and it also provided me with enough cash to pay my rent and save some money for CO. All in all, a great summer! Many of my good friends
Fireworks on the 4th of JulyFireworks on the 4th of JulyFireworks on the 4th of July

In New Canaan for the Family 4th at Waveny
from school were still around DC, and others stopped by, so it eased the transition from college to the real world. I miss Georgetown, but I don't belong there anymore. It's time to move on. Carpe diem!

I'm going to post more once I get to Colorado, but I wanted to write this post to invite you to join me on my next journey. Eventually I hope you'll follow me across the world to a Peace Corps destiniation TBD: I'm starting the application process now! This time next year, I might be in Africa. But until then...ski slopes, here I come!




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Freedom PlazaFreedom Plaza
Freedom Plaza

Looking down Pennsylvania Ave. to the Capitol. The restaurant where I worked is right nearby
Biking to Old Town AlexandriaBiking to Old Town Alexandria
Biking to Old Town Alexandria

with friends, in early July. It's about a 10-mile bike ride each way from my place in Columbia Heights.
Journey Reunion Concert!!!Journey Reunion Concert!!!
Journey Reunion Concert!!!

Went to a fabulous concert in August with Lynsey, Dylan (both pictured) Emery and some other people. Opening groups were Cheap Trick and Heart! Gotta love '80s anthem bands...
DC United gameDC United game
DC United game

with Lynsey
Lynsey & me at a DC United gameLynsey & me at a DC United game
Lynsey & me at a DC United game

Went to 2 DC United Games, 4 Nationals games, and 1 Capitals game this summer/fall. Not bad, considering I also worked 2 jobs!
Building in DCBuilding in DC
Building in DC

Right across from the National Geographic Museum. I think this used to be a school. I liked the architecture
Chess in Dupont CircleChess in Dupont Circle
Chess in Dupont Circle

Scenes of summer life in DC
Friends/colleagues from WRIFriends/colleagues from WRI
Friends/colleagues from WRI

@ our favorite happy hour bar, Bar Louie, at Gallery Place


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1mb