I seriously have the best job ever.


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So I definitely have the best job ever.

This morning I got dressed up because me and Sara were going to the NIH in Maryland to get training on some website information thing that the NIH does with Genetic Alliance. So we headed over there around 8:30, figured out where we were going, and then went through security. !! Yes. Metal detectors, x-ray machines, ID check, everything. Crazy! Then we finally found the woman's office who we were trying to find, since she had been moved down two floors from where we had been told, and realized that we were absolutely overdressed for the occasion. After a brief introduction she shipped us off with her son, who was probably 12 or 13, and was wearing an Indiana Jones type fedora and had his pants rolled up just over his socks... silly kid. He took us down to get breakfast, and we bought food and then went back upstairs to learn about our project. Basically our project consists of taking thousands of internet resources (like articles from medical journals, or advocacy organization websites) for hundreds and hundreds of different genetic diseases and linking it all to the Genetic Alliance website. For example, Sara started organizing the links to "Vanishing Testes Syndrome" and there were almost 200,000 articles that had to be organized and linked up to the GA website. Hahahahahaha.

So we went back to work and started cracking up about the ridiculous job we have to do, and then we looked at lolcats, and then we laughed so hard we cried and I don't even remember why. We ate lunch (salad from Giant!, and wheat thins) and laughed some more, for some reason everyone I work with thinks I'm really funny even when I'm not trying to be, which is nice.

Then we went back to work editing/internetting/linking/wanting to scratch our eyes out because we were so tired of staring at the computer screen. It was really fun. I don't know if it's just because it's Monday or what, but everyone in the office was so hyper all day. I laughed to the point of tears at least three times in the 6 hours I was in the office. That's pretty fun.

Anyways, nothing super new to report besides that. It's raining, but oh well.

I had a sheet of plywood on my bed when I moved in, which I have since removed from my bed, and so tomorrow (if it's nice out) I'm going to swing by the hardware store on the way home and buy some paint and we're going to make Art.

Spaghetti tonight. I don't feel like walking out in the rain any more.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb