Moving to Sweden I


Advertisement
Published: June 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

NarutoNarutoNaruto

The result of too much job hunting. Also wanted to show off my newly bleached/dyed hair to everyone. Based off a pattern of an outfit I bought a few years ago, just took it apart and voila! Naruto!
Today has simply been lovely. I don't think I've ever been more estatic in my entire life.

For the past month or so the thought of working on my visa application for Sweden has been both daunting and terrifying. Mostly because when it comes to authority figures I'm not at my most stellar. I mean, I can move to a foreign country at the drop of a hat and be perfectly fine, but speaking to the members of an Embassy about actually accomplishing that? But I've done it, and now I've gotten a lot of things straightened out.

For starters-- What I would like to accomplish in the beginning isn't even covered by a visa or application. Apparently there are no grounds for long lost siblings that have finally found one another being able to move one sibling across the ocean to live with the other sibling.. But there are loopholes! And I've found the most spectacular one. The recommendation made by the Consulate was that I move to Sweden for the grace period of 90 days, find a job, then return to America and file for a work visa. If it's accepted I can move back to Sweden
Naruto IINaruto IINaruto II

Is it sad that I actually look like him?
and continuously renew my permit for two years. After that I can officially become a permanent resident. Other options are obtaining my masters degree in Sweden (which accomplishes the two year requirement) or marry someone Swedish. I think I like my loophole best for the immediate time, unless one of my Swedish friends would like me for a wife ;P

The only thing that is keeping me from moving now is paying back the rest of my Japan loan. Which in reality should be paid off in a very short amount of time. Once I have a full-time job I can easily make money there, then will follow selling my car before I officially leave and also the money I make from whatever part-time work I engage in as well as Sora's wedding cake. So the reality of being there for New Years, celebrating things with my friends and brothers has definitely become reality.

Aaah, I can't wait, I can't wait! This is really too damn exciting!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Swedish Embassy ISwedish Embassy I
Swedish Embassy I

Far side of the House of Sweden in Washington DC. Houses the Consulate and the Ambassador
Swedish Embassy IISwedish Embassy II
Swedish Embassy II

I really don't know what the door is for.. But it was cute! And by this point I was too overjoyed that I wanted to take pictures of everything ;P
Washington DCWashington DC
Washington DC

Boardwalk along one section of the Potomac River
ImoutoImouto
Imouto

Picture of me with my little sister, Nozomi! I have to steal her to live with me one of these days :P
KaraokeKaraoke
Karaoke

One night at Big Wave with Jukka, Non, Jesus (Russ), and mechamecha Oniichan (Robin)
Going Away PartyGoing Away Party
Going Away Party

Aniki and I playing "Never Have I Ever" with a group of other KGU students.. and Jukka!
PurePure
Pure

One of the night clubs we went to in Japan. They had these little caves you could go in if you wanted to talk. But they also had these little cubbies for.. well. Fred is in the back with Viktor on top
Hair DyeingHair Dyeing
Hair Dyeing

Robert wanted to join in when I decided to bleach my hair.. So much fun with four people shoved in our small bathroom xD
GraduationGraduation
Graduation

My diploma from Kansai Gaidai
Kyoudai SmashKyoudai Smash
Kyoudai Smash

Can't really see it the cracked glass but it was the result of kyoudai smashing into a traffic barricade at three in the morning on a bicycle. One of my favorite Japan memories :D
BakingBaking
Baking

First bowl of cookie dough made back in the States. You've no idea how depressing it was to bake cookies in half an hour when it would be a night of fun back at Gaidai


10th June 2008

Haha, the door is supposed to look like the "red houses", traditionell houses in Sweden. Google after "svensk stuga". Yeah, New Years! :D Btw.... come to think of it... that bicycle ride was really dangerous, we were so drunk :P
10th June 2008

Ah, I get it now! They look absolutely beautiful, remind me of what you see in the South here.. I'll take photos when I go to Georgia this weekend for you :D And it probably was really dangerous but it was sooo much fun! :P Let's do it again!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb