In Bloom - D.C. Cherry Blossom Festival


Advertisement
Published: March 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Being sort of new to the D.C. area, I was anxious to see these cherry blossoms that I had heard so much about. I mean, yea, it's flowers, but it means so much to this area. And by it means so much, it means lots of tourist $$. After fighting the mob on the metro and getting past the crowds on the mall, a few friends from home, a co-worker, and I walked around the National Mall, taking in the peak bloom period of the cherry blossoms. I managed to get some pretty cool shots, so I'll let the pictures speak for themselves this week.

Until next time, safe travels.

-Kacz


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



1st April 2008

Jeffy those pics are so beautiful! im jealous :)
9th February 2009

worth fighting the crowd?
My hubby and I are thinking about doing the DC/cherryblossom thing. We live in Mn. Thinking about trying to catch the beginning or end of the bloom time but avoiding the festival dates. Do you live in the area and can you tell us how many others try to do the same thing? Are the crowds, lines at sites and conjested public transportation worth it or would you recommend coming in early March to avoid the crowds?

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb