Visiting my friend, George


Advertisement
Published: February 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

DC it is! The chance to see the capital is too much to pass up, so I get up early to get across NYC to buy my ticket - stopping only to help a poorly woman who has collapsed on the Subway. There are that many mentals in NYC, so much so that it's very disconcerting when anyone even talks to you - let alone actually finds themselves in need.

The four hours on the train pass quickly, particularly with accompanying music. I gently convince a spot to leave my ear, and am able to insert my headphones for the first time in a couple of days.

Leaving Union Station in DC - the Capital (Congress) building is the first site that grabs one’s attention. I walk the 11 blocks to my hostel - something that I come to regret - as my knees let me know all about it as the days goes on.

Being a fan of the horror genre, high on my list of places to visit was the house - and indeed - the steps that were made famous by the 1976 (?) film - The Exorcist. Somehow it looks less scary with a black VW beetle in the driveway. It actually takes, what in hindsight is, an abominably long time to get to. Ultimately it costs me a chance of visiting the Lincoln Memorial, which I would have liked to have seen. Honest Abe and I go way back.

“I’m an amendment to be, yes an amendment to be - and I’m hopin’ that they’ll ratify meeee.
There’s a lot of flag burners, who have got too much freedom…”
Simpsons permeates every day of my life, evidently.

It’s pretty cold, and the circulator bus which services the main sights takes a while to reach me time I want to hop on. The light fails me by the time I get to the White House, and as such I’m unable to get a picture posing with my North Korean visa.

Ice hockey rounds off my trip to Washington, where I sup on a Guinness and watch the Capitals sprint into a 3-0, first period lead. The Panthers get back into it gamely, as the poor goaltending continues, yet ultimately it’s the ‘Caps’ who run out 5-3 winners.

I sleep with a dorm to myself… wake at 2am… and struggle to find a taxi driver who fancies going to the station. One helpfully informs me that he’s “not going that way.” Hmm, are you going to tell him - or should I?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb