Mrs. Jenson Goes to Washington


Advertisement
Published: May 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

How can any self-respecting political science major and amateur presidential gawker admit to never having visited our nations capital? A dream of a lifetime that will come true today, I am high in the sky (in an airplane with wifi, yahoo!!) on my way to Washington, DC.

Well, Alexandria, Virginia actually - but close enough.

I am wisely packed, walking shoes only and ready to experience an adventure to remember. Traveling alone, I plan to savor every moment of the next few days. And when the conference begins, I plan to have visited all the amazing monuments, museums and sights.

My first opportunity to visit DC was foiled by 9/11. It was a heartbreaking time for our country, but flying was out of the question. Even this morning, my stomach flipped a few times due to turbulence. Not to mention a way too tight connection in SLC. I was literally the second to last person on to the plane and only had about six minutes to run from one terminal to the other. In an hour or two, I will touch down and the adventure will begin.

More to follow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb