No Going Back Now


Advertisement
Published: June 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So .... my tickets have been booked 😊 I have a one-way ticket out of DC to LA on December 31 (so I can spend new years and a few days with some old college friends I haven't seen in ages) and a one-way ticket to Bangkok on January 4th. Hence the countdown clock that's been added to my profile.

Oh and those are non-refundable tickets. So unless I forfeit the albeit not so gigantic amount I spent on the tickets (turns out you save so much money when you book months and months in advance), I'm leaving DC in approximately 190 days ... and for good.

It actually feels really good to know that I'm doing this and that it's happening - no matter what. Of course, I am a little anxious (particularly about doing this alone, and not having a job or a plan when I come back) but so far it's manageable.

My itinerary is also becoming a little bit clearer with each - although I haven't gotten farther than booking the flight to Bangkok. I'm thinking I'll send a few days in Bangkok, recover from jet lag etc and then go directly to Myanmar, followed by Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam (in that order I think), before heading back to Thailand and then ending in Malaysia, before going to Bangalore, India to see a friend - the last stop before heading back to France. The idea is to do the least touristic places during the most touristic months and move on to the more touristic places when they're supposedly a bit more off season. We'll see.

Anyways, I just wanted to give a quick update on how things are going. Buying those first plane tickets was a big step but there's still so much to do (like find a backpack, book more plane tickets, finalize details), so it's definitely going to be a busy couple months up.

And of course- advice is always welcome if anyone stopping through here is so inclined 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb