Vacationing in the Bahamas = mid-twenties crisis


Advertisement
Published: May 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I recently spent 2 weeks doing absolutely nothing besides laying on the beach on San Salvador island in the Bahamas, occasionally putting on a mask and a tuba and pretending I was snorkelling, and drinking excessively at local bars. In my book, that's a successful vacation.

And I got back to DC, sat in my office and realized my life is lacking a certain je ne sais quoi. After some nostalgic Facebook stalking and realizing that everyone seems to be traveling the world expect for me, I decided it was time to get out here.

So here's the plan- come January 2012, I will proceed to quit my job, sell all my crap (expect the stuff that I'm sending home to France ... see below) and go travelling for about 6 months. Right now, I'm planning on going to southeast Asia mainly (Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Maylasia, Indonesia, maybe Philippines) - with a backpack and a very limited budget. My three goals for my trip are: visit touristy things, get my advanced open water scuba diving certification (already have regular OW), and party. Should be feasible.

Now, the downside to this wonderful plan of mine is what happens
View from the house in San SalvadorView from the house in San SalvadorView from the house in San Salvador

this = much better than my office in DC
at the end. Right now, the plan is do move back to France, where my parents now live, and move home !! argh. well that's fun! And then of course I need to find a job. Because my parents aren't going to let me live at home forever. The catch is I haven't told them yet - but they are arriving in DC this coming Tuesday, so stay tuned to find out how that fun little chat went 😊

Anyways, I figured I would start blogging before I left (I still have about 7 months before it's time to pack up and leave) and talk about my preparations, planning, etc.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb