Day 12: Still in D.C.


Advertisement
Published: June 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today I spent the entire day at the Smithsonian Museums. The museums opened at 10:00 a.m. and I was ready and there by that time! First I traveled to see the National Air and Space Museum. There, I saw many airplanes hanging from the ceiling and several exhibits about the history of plane and space travel. There was even one of the planes by the Wright brothers there. There was also a model of a space vessel that you could walk inside of.

Next I went to the Natural History Museum. There were several exhibits and fossils, as well as a wealth of information about life science and geology. There I saw the Hope Diamond.

Next was the American History Museum. This was where I spent most of my time. There were many exhibits, ranging from American transportation to one on American wars. I saw the Star-Spangled Banner (the flag that Key saw when he wrote the song). I did not take a lot of pictures today, as there was so much that it was just too overwhelming for me.

After the American History Museum, I went back to the Air and Space Museum and watched the Imax movie "Hubble 3D". After the museum closed at 7:30, I took the train and went to see the Pentagon and the Pentagon Memorial.

Tomorrow we leave for New York. More to come...


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb