It's not Europe, but I'd never been there before...Wilmington, Delaware


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Delaware
February 5th 2007
Published: February 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, today I headed off to Wilmington, Delaware, for a presentation to our newest firm. We picked a heck of a day to do it too - the coldest day of the year. Yes, here in lovely Jersey it was a balmy nine degrees when I woke up this morning...without the wind chill. So I thought to put on a lined suit, and wear a sweater over my blouse and OF COURSE I wore a warm coat, gloves, and scarf. But I still was unprepared for the bitter bitter cold.

At any rate, it took us about two and a half hours to get into Wilmington, which is not a bad drive all in all, and a dream trip in the car when you've spent as much time in planes as I have recently! The little bit of the city that I saw reminded me of Philadelphia, with its buildings reminiscent of a more colonial style. But I felt like it's the city that everyone forgot, because it was EMPTY. Even our lawyers joked that you can always tell a New Yorker from a native because they'll stand on the corner to hail a cab, with one hand in the air, and they still won't be able to hail either cab. It was hard to tell if the lack of people was in part due to the bitter cold, or because there is just no one there. Which is a shame, because it was a pretty city, and I wish I'd seen more of it than the inside of our firm's offices. They were extremely hospitable, and in this case, that meant saving us from frostbite and having lunch in a conference room there instead of a local restaurant. I wish I had more opinions to offer on this little city, but I'll have to go back to fill you in. The local lawyers were happy to report that it takes them approximately six minutes to get into the office from home (is that supposed to be a good thing?!?!), so apparently, it's nothing like New York with regard to the living situation. And their marketing director commutes in from Philadelphia, which she quite enjoys. It seems a nice little city, and one worth exploring further...in the summer, perhaps.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1014.4kb