Maryland - Delaware - and Virginia Beach


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Delaware » Lewes
June 3rd 2019
Published: June 4th 2019
Edit Blog Post

One of Ten !

When it comes to riding motorcycles - any day on a bike is better than a day at work. However, occasionally you get a red letter day where everything lines up and its one of the 10 best rides you get that year. Today was one of those days. I started in Rockville MD about 10:15 and plugged Queenstown MD into my Garmin. Most of the traffic North of DC was heading in the opposite direction so it was smooth sailing to the very high and picturesque bridge over to Queenstown. The weather was fantastic between 72 and 79 degrees all day and once I crossed the bridge no more interstate roads. I plugged small towns like Harrington and Lewes Delaware into my Garmin, so I'd be on smaller two lane state roads for the first half of the day.



So what constitutes and awesome day on the bike- Great temperatures, low humidity, light traffic, fun curvy roads, and a variety of scenery including farms, 250 year old churches, beautiful sand beaches, and tree lined roads- throw in a few very high and unique bridges along the way.

I ended up on the road longer than expected because of all the small roads and towns I passed through- I was on the road until 5:30 and covered 308 miles. The highlights were:

1.) Making it to the Atlantic at Lewes beach, Rehoboth beach Delaware.

2.) Getting the best Ribeye cheesesteak sandwich in all of the Ocean City area at Uptown Eats.

3.) Finally, crossing over the Chesapeake bay bridge was awesome. The bridge is about 18 miles long and contains three bridge lengths with two tunnels in between the bridges.

After making it to the Marriott Courtyard at Virginia Beach and checking. I made it to Murphy's Irish Pub where I enjoyed a 9.0 Guinness. A great ride followed up by a great pint! There are more pictures below.

I haven't figured out my schedule for tomorrow yet but will be heading toward somewhere in North Carolina and stopping at Kitty Hawk to see the monument to first flight! Wouldn't be awesome to get another one of ten tomorrow 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb