Pre-Trip Planning and Expectations


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Connecticut
August 21st 2010
Published: August 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

After six months of relentless research and anticipation, my trip to South America is a mere 25 days away. Although there are countless places I wish to go during my trip, the sad fact is that 82 days won't allow me to see it all. Rachel, my travel buddy, and I have decided to embark on this trip without a route. We have our research and ideas as to our itinerary, but ultimately we are going to let the fates guide us.
That being said, there are a handful of places I refuse to miss:

1. Machu Picchu - This need not explanation; it is one of the most magnificent places in the world.
2. Huacachina - A lagoon oasis and the midst of sand dunes? Yes please.
3. Salar de Uyuni - The four day jeep tour of the salt flats, the breeding ground for three species of flamingos are not to miss.
4. Mendoza - By the time we reach Argentina we will be in dire need of some relaxation and delicious Malbec wines.
5. Lake District - Beautiful landscapes and numerous adventure possibilities.

To be honest, there are many more than that; dare I miss the floating reed islands of Lake Titicaca, the seductive tango dancers in Buenos Aires, the glaciers and penguins in Patagonia, the majestic Iguazu Falls... the list goes on and on.

It will be interesting to see which places I value highest upon my return - as it is rarely the ones you anticipate.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb