First steps..


Advertisement
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My flights were awful! My connection, from Washington to New York, was first delayed (few times) then finally we did board, waiting to taxi to the runway, finally at the runway, waiting again. In the end because we were pushed back all the time they canceled the flight. I ended up 'sleeping' at a couch on the airport, with bright light above me. More and more people surrounded me to lay down all of a sudden on the benches next to me! I got on the flight the next morning at 8.15

First impression camp: It's so pretty out here! It's in the middle of the woods, the place is so big (700acres) and has small streams and a big lake: beautiful. Chris (I know him from my last trip) showed me around at first at the Pioneer Village (PV) side of the lake. On this side I will work with the 14 & 15 year olds. I bumped into Derek, who was traveling that time with Chris and I've met a whole bunch of other people at alumni weekend.

We had dinner and drinks, canoed back to 'our' side of the lake. I went to bed around 23.30, missed the lookout point, but I was too tired. I slept in a tent, kinda outside, nice. Squirrels woke me up.
The one thing that wasn't my cup of tea: prayer the next morning and a religious song, the director is a 'priest/pastor'. I've been told we gonna have some more moments like this, but happily not daily😉

Now we start to get everything ready and in the meanwhile more camp leaders come in, so we put up tents (big and heavy), I cleaned the ladies restrooms (which means hand into clogged toilet), did some washing and more cleaning. For now we are sleeping in a house all together, but will be moving within 2 weeks to our side. On this side they have a brand new water slide: the Wet Willy, so much fun!

Tomorrow I will start my ropes course, won't be able to finish it, because Friday I will leave to another camp for 2 nights for wilderness first aid. After that on Sunday I will start lifeguard & boat rescue. Busy, but cool.

Advertisement



6th June 2007

finally...MMM
Hi sis, Finally a note from you! I was a little helpless in my thoughts...I didn't hear anything from you till now.... BUT...there you are... I am so glad everything is oke and you are enjoying yourself!!!! Next time a longer story from my hand! Enjoy! Love, sis XXX
8th June 2007

Glad to know you're enjoyin yourself
Hey Nouky, nice to read this first entry since you've arrived at camp. Must have been very tirering to have this many impressions, learning new people etc, shortly after your arrival. Tho it seems you got a warm welcome and you realy are enjoying yourself. Looking forward to read about your next 'adventures', haha. Take care, houdoe ;), William
11th June 2007

Hee die noek! Leuk je Blog te lezen en ook je berichtje! Ik ben gisteren bij je ouders langs geweest om de laatste post te bezorgen dus als het goed is krijg je een deze dagen van hen een update over wat er allemaal in staat. Even over NL; het is hier heel slecht weer geweest en in Tilburg is zelfs iemand dood gegaan omdat ie was geraakt door de bliksem... verder Stinkie stinkt nog steeds en hij vond het toch wel stil zonder je (ik ook!!). Verder ga ik van de week op slaesmeeting naar Londen dus dat is dan wel weer ff leuk. Ik had het er met Maarten over en die bood zelfs aan boodschappen voor mij te doen omdat ik pas zaterdag weer terug kom. Dat heb ik dan ook maar beleefd afgeslagen haha. Nou ik ga weer snel verder (want ik zit op mn werk) Veel groetjes Milena
11th June 2007

blond..
Hey lieverd!!! zooo dom,dacht dat ik mijn telefoon ergens was verloren. Wat bleek...een week later kwam ik er achter dat 'ïe in de (make-up)prullenbak was gevallen en mijn batterij was natuurlijk leeg.. Maar goed ik ben nu weer mobiel bereikbaar,maar had je helaas donderdag niet meer kunnen spreken.. Ik mail je van de week even,want heb je al weer veel te 'vertellen' Was blij om te horen dat je veilig was aangekomen,ondanks die vertraging..echt balen dan. Nou, noukie...heel veel plezier",geniet ervan en tot mails. Dikke kus Ireentje

Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 79; dbt: 0.1208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb