Acorn Acres Campgrounds - Bozrah Connecticut


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Connecticut » Norwich
July 13th 2012
Published: July 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Our daughter Kelly has asked me several times to blog about the campgrounds where Sally and I are camping in Connecticut so here goes. The Campground is called Acorn Acres which is located in Bozrah Connecticut. Bozrah is located about 8 miles from the town of Norwich Connecticut which is in the southeastern part of the state. The campgrounds are about 3 miles off the highway, in the woods, so prior to this trip I always needed someone to lead me in and out since I only came out here once every two or three years when I was home on vacation. Acorn Acres has been in operation since 1968. The owner is a close friend of my mom and dad's and I would venture to say that most of my nieces and nephews have worked here at least one summer in their life. My sister Mary lives at the campgrounds year round and her husband works full time for the owner taking care of maintenace issues. Another one of my sisters camps here during the summer only and has done so for quite a few years. There are approximately 220 camping sites as well as about 4 cabins that can be rented. There is a pond on site for fishing, a swimming pool, tennis courts, minature golf, basketball courts as well as a recreation hall with pool tables and pinball machines. The owner schedules up activities during the season for guests which include a weekend of olympic competition which consists of swimming, track, bachi ball, 3 legged races to name just a few. Scheduled for this weekend is an eight ball competition, and August activities will include a Las Vegas weekend, Christmas in August (sites decorated for Christmas), Luau and probably other activities that I can remember offhand. One thing that Sally and I have found is that campers are extremely friendly people. This has been a great vacation and Sally is enjoying living in the motorhome immensely. I see many more summers on the road in both of our futures!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb