Day 2 - Vail


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Vail
March 10th 2008
Published: March 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Jason jumps a rock 9 secs
I'm pretty sure that Day 2 found both Jason and I waking up with smiles of excitement looking forward to our first day on snow. We woke up around 7:15 or so and got all geared up, made sure we remembered to bring anything we could ever need, and then we loaded up the car and grabbed some continental breakfast to-go. With bagels in hand, we hit the road on the 1/2 hour journey to Vail.

Once there, we parked in the parking garage in Vail Village and booted up. After a quick bathroom break and storing the backpack, we were ready to roll. The chairlifts open to the public at 8:30, so of course we were right on the lift by then.

If I was a weather man, I would say that the day at Vail was partly sunny and partly snowy but overall pretty nice.

We rode up quite possibly the longest chairlift I've ever been on and neither of as had any clue where we were - and we loved it.

We took a quick warm up run down some fresh corduroy and then we headed to the Back Bowls. We took a long windy trail around the ridge of the bowls and the views from up there were just amazing. We found a few hidden powder spots along that run and I was fabulous enough to run over a small baby tree while playing the powder - Jason laughed at me.

We eventually made our way up to Blue Sky Basin where we had a nice 10:30am snack of Doritos, a cookie, and water. While we were riding up the lift, we had noticed down below a huge portion of untouched powder. And being the powder-seekers that we are, we decided we would adventure down there. And an adventure it was! In order to get down there, we had to go down a straight drop off before we could get to the powder (come to find out later this steep drop was called Lover's Leap - how lovely!). I was a little nervous but very excited. I just put my feet over the edge and slid on my butt until I could stand - it was crazy! Once we got down the powder, it was totally amazing and both Jason and I got buried in it! We had to unstrap our boards
Blue Sky BasinBlue Sky BasinBlue Sky Basin

calling home on our morning snack break
and walk out of the powder in order to carry on our journey.

After a while longer of fun riding, we headed back down for lunch at Vail Village. We split a soup and sandwich and were back on snow in no time!

Once our bellies had been filled we carried on our riding adventures until about 3pm or so at which point we called it a day.

After we headed back to the car and de-booted, we started wandering around Vail Village and Lionshead going in and out of random shops and just enjoying where we were. We checked out the new Burton at Vail store and I, of course, bought myself a nice t-shirt there. I also bought a regular Vail shirt and, courtesy to the birthday gift card from Jason's parents, I bought myself a nice little CamelBak so that we can stay hydrated on the mountains and also battle any altitude sickness we might encounter (which hasn't been much!). I believe today the highest elevation we reached was 11,480 feet and that was at Blue Sky Basin.

Around 6pm or so we decided that we better start finding ourselves some dinner. After
the cliff!the cliff!the cliff!

getting ready to slide down
a few bus rides between Vail Village and Lionshead, we finally found ourselves a nice place to eat at Blue Moose Pizza.

We were pooped after our dinner and shopping adventures so we headed back to Dillion and stopped at the grocery store real quick to pick up stuff to make sandwiches and snacks for the rest of the week.

And as Day 2 comes to a close, we're both looking forward to another exciting day on snow tomorrow at a currently undecided resort.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



11th March 2008

Wow!!
This is way too cool!!! What a great use of technolgy!! I hope you continue to have fun and keep this updated. I'll look every morning to see what is new. Too bad about not coming back to NY, your Mom will be sad:( Oh, don't forget to come back and finish school first!!
11th March 2008

Need pics
We need pics of the hotel! We need more video! LOVE THE BLOG!
11th March 2008

Even I think Colorado looks fab!!!
YAY, sooo glad you guys made it and everything looks amazing!!! Also - I would like to comment on your blog writing style, as a critiquer of writing I would like to say that you are very engaging and amusing. And only a little bit of it sounds like you are speaking in another language, for example I have no idea what "fresh corduroy" is. But it sounds great. hehe! love you guys come to NC!!
11th March 2008

soooooooooooo
Soooooooooooooooooo....Laura.....Is that plain ol' Vail t-shirt for me?! :-D I miss you guys and Laura your blogging style is awesome...Jason you're weird....how the heck did you get stuck in the snow sideways?! I love you guys and I can't wait to hear more of your fabulous adventures!!!! ps Laura have a beaver creek lift cookie for me!!!!! Love ya guys!!!! Sara
11th March 2008

I too.....
am so impressed!!! And I agree the writing is witty, amusing and engaging. This is so fun! Dad was so excited this morning to get his email and he kept saying "wait till you see", "wait till you see", and then I saw! Technology sure is nifty! I can't believe videos too - how awesome - continue to have a wonderful, wonderful time!!
12th March 2008

Question?
Is fresh cordoroy a cool new fabric? Otherwise I have no idea what it might be.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb