The Trip Begins!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Vail
March 14th 2007
Published: March 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Home 1Home 1Home 1

Home sweet home in Fennimore, Wisconsin.
Here it is - the very first entry documenting my aimless wanderings. I’m currently in Vail, Colorado visiting my friend Erica and her boyfriend John. Not to brag, but if I turn my head away from the computer for a second I’ll see a stunning mountain vista. Wait… gorgeous. But before I get to Colorado, I’ll write a little about what else I’ve been doing for the last two weeks.

My first stop was Fennimore, Wisconsin - home of the Fennimore High Golden Eagles, Igor the Mouse, many Amish, many cows, my grandfathers, my parents, and according to the U.S. Postal Service, me. I spent the week vigorously fending off the lethargy I can be prone to by running errands for my parents and cooking dinner. I was as close to a housewife as I’ll ever be. I also completed 4 jigsaw puzzles, reread The Hobbit, played bingo at the nursing home, ran into 2 high school classmates with whom I exchanged the requisite awkward pleasantries, attended my first women’s hockey game (in Madison - 4 overtimes!), avoided organizing and packing for this trip at all costs, and generally just chilled out. It was a good week and, as the kids say, a big shout out to Mom & Dad.

As great as it was to be home, the traveling itch soon set in. So, I loaded up the car and took off last Tuesday. The first day was all about getting as far as possible before American Idol started. My priorities are still intact. I made it all the way across “scenic” Iowa, stopping in Lincoln, Nebraska - roughly 7 hours. The next day was all about “even more scenic” Nebraska and half of Colorado. I made fairly good driving time, but was slowed down by a detour to see Harold Warp’s Pioneer Village. I was suckered in by the billboards. For those of you who’ve been to South Dakota and seen the Wall Drug signs, you know what I mean. It was a strange, strange place. Actual interesting exhibits included original covered wagons, an original Pony Express station, and a sod house. Bafflingly interesting exhibits included salt and pepper shakers through the years, model ships built by Harold Warp’s son, and a weird shrine to some long-time Nebraska senator, including a recreation of his office and a lot of stuffed elephants (I guess representing his Republicanism). My
Castle Rock ChurchCastle Rock ChurchCastle Rock Church

The little country church I grew up in, my parents grew up in, and my grandparents grew up in.
immediate family will be thrilled to know that there was an old-timey village there too.

I arrived in Vail last night, roughly 12 hours after I left the hotel. Wasting no time, Erica, John & I went out for a nightcap in Vail Ski Village. It was a piano bar filled with very rich people, and as Erica put it, we brought the median age down significantly. I was still wearing my road trip track pants and hoodie, so am sure quite an impression was made.

I’ve uploaded a few pictures to tide everyone over, but the good stuff will come when I make the official Vail update. Hope everyone is well.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Castle Rock CreekCastle Rock Creek
Castle Rock Creek

For the fishermen...
IgorIgor
Igor

Igor - Fennimore's greatest ambassador. I almost put my eye out trying to get this picture - his whiskers are a menace.
Hitching PostHitching Post
Hitching Post

One of my dad's clients parked behind his bank.
Amish BuggyAmish Buggy
Amish Buggy

A slight delay on my way out of town.
Scenic NebraskaScenic Nebraska
Scenic Nebraska

The beauty of Nebraska. What an exciting drive!
Harold WarpHarold Warp
Harold Warp

This had to be better than more Nebraska scenery, right?
Old Timey VillageOld Timey Village
Old Timey Village

Look how excited I am to be at an old-timey village!
Harold Warp ChurchHarold Warp Church
Harold Warp Church

This just reminded me of the inside of Castle Rock.
View from Erica'sView from Erica's
View from Erica's

Just a tease of Colorado...


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb