Rockie Mountains - Telluride


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Telluride
August 5th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey Guys,

Hopes you are all doing good! Currently writing this to my own email to add to my travelblog later as the travelblog website is down as it has been for ages! Gash hey! I shall add this and a previous blog update to it when its back up!

Last update was at Sante Fe - that evening we had some Southwestern cuisine at a restaurant called "The Shed" - I had an enchilades and taco plate and this stuff was hot hot hot! This place also rumoured to be the home of margaritas - dont know how true that is but I had a couple of fruity ones and they were good!

The next day we went to Monument Valley in Utah (one state where no alcohol is allowed - whats that all about?!).. Here we visited the National Park where the Indian Navajos used to and still do to an extent hang out! We took a jeep ride where a guide called Chris (yes he was part of the tribe!) took us around. Here we saw some spectacular formations in the rock which included the locations where many John Wayne films were filmed. Also under a spot called The Eagles Eye - apparently featured in Raiders of the Lost Arc we were treated to some indian music by the way of drums and flute! - For one of the songs we had to envisage ourselves as an animal - a tiger popped into my head which apparently means intelligence and strength - sums me off perfectly I think 😊 ! On the way back we also got caught in a hurricane - nice! Fortunately I managed to get a seat in the sheltered front seat and keep dry - the other guys werent so lucky!

Friday we went to another national park called Mesa Verde in Colorado - this place dates back 1400 years and is where the anasazi tribe built houses /settlements high up in caves on steep cliffs. We went on a tour to a place called the Balcony house which involved climbing up ladders on the cliff edge and through potholes! - V.Exciting. We were about 900 feet from the ground so the views were amazing!

As for yesterday (saturday!) we have arrived into the Rocky Mountains - my god the scenery is just awesome! - at some points you are up to 14000 feet above sea level! Anyway we spent the afternoon in a town called Ouray which is near where we were staying and just chilled - i purchased a hell of a lot of fudge for about 3 bucks - barry argain! Then after pitching up we headed to some hot springs where I became a naturalist - lol! No our tour guide convinced all the guys to do this naked and to be honest the people who were in swimming gear looked like the odd ones out! I thought I'd feel wierd letting it all hang out but was actually feeling quite comfortable ! 😊 However I've done it once now and dont know if I'll do it again! Reminded me of something from the Roman times..

As for today we have spent the day in a place called Telluride - went on a spectacular mountain bike ride for 3 hours earlier! Got quite muddy but the trip was definitely worth it for the views! AFter that we have just chilled with a couple of beers watching some baseball in a bar and had a burger! Theres a jazz festival going on this town tonight so we are going to check that out this evening..

Hope you are all good - I look forward to actually updating my blog - this is just in storage till then 😊 Bye for now me chums!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb