Emergency Camp in the San Isabel N Forest, Colorado USA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Salida
September 14th 2020
Published: January 9th 2021
Edit Blog Post

It was mid afternoon when I drove North on Interstate Hwy 25 from Trinidad to Pueblo, Colorado. I turned West on US Hwy 50 to find an emergency legal camp in the mountains cuz I had no chance of making it to my primary camp in the Gunnison N Forest, West of the Continental Divide.

Somewhere near Canon City, Colorado I made a stop on the Arkansas River for a short photo shoot and to enjoy the flowing river. Somewhere on the Arkansas River I must have passed near a trading post from George Simpson established in the mid 1800s...now long gone.

After dark, still on US Hwy 50, I saw a sign for Forest Service access in the San Isabel National Forest (on the East side of Monarch Pass on the Continental Divide) where I made my safe camp for the night near the dirt road. There would be nor more hotels, prepared food, or pubs for this camping adventure. I did sleep very well.

completed


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

West PuebloWest Pueblo
West Pueblo

crazy vote person
Arkansas RiverArkansas River
Arkansas River

river rafters (LOL)
by Arkansas Riverby Arkansas River
by Arkansas River

railroad private property
by Arkansas Riverby Arkansas River
by Arkansas River

railroad private property


Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb