Four Corners - Colorado Scenic Byway


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Montrose
July 18th 2007
Published: July 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I did not want to leave the Grand Canyon! You can definitely spend several days here exploring, hiking or going to any of the many programs they have to offer. Whether you spend one day or one week, it certainly should be added to your list of 'things to do and see.'

My trip now takes me to the Scenic Byway of Southwestern Colorado. But first, a stop at the Four Corners (the point where Arizona, Utah, Colorado and New Mexico meet.) Don't expect much! It's out in the desert and a I guess it is a place to stop if you just really want to add it to your list of places you have been. I did. You can have your picture taken on the monument where all four states meet, and browse all the Indian jewelry and trinket booths that are scattered around.... but that's it! Don't expect much. It only costs $3 to get onto the grounds.

After Four Corners, I made my way up to Cortez, Colorado where I will start my Scenic Byway trip via the Western portion of the Byway... up thru Telluride, Placerville and on to Ridgway. It certainly is a beautiful drive, thru the Mountains and besides the numerous streams. Stop in Telluride where you can ride the lifts for free in the summer and get a birds-eye view of the ski area and Mountain Village. There was a small outdoor concert going on the evening that I was there.

At Ridgway, I wanted to venture off the Byway and go up to Montrose and view the Black Canyon of the Gunnison. When planning my trip, I had made reservations at the Matterhorn Campgrounds (run by the NPS) just south of Telluride. I had never been to the area before, so relied on the internet and www.reservations.gov to find my campgrounds. I stopped there before pulling into Telluride just to check the place out. It was not very appealling. There are several other private campgrounds along the route that look much nicer and appeared to have vacancies. I would suggest not staying at Matterhorn and checking out one of the private campgrounds.

After cruising Telluride, I decided to skip Matterhorn, continue on up my route and see how far I could get. I made it all the way to Montrose just after dark. There are still more campgrounds in the area and many, many Motels is Montrose. This is a nice little city to stay in if you are going to Black Canyon (it's just down the road). I found a great room at a locally motel called the Black Canyon Motel. I certainly recommend it. It offers very reasonable prices and a nice comfortable room. There was even a homemade quilt on the bed, plus a microwave and small refrig in my room. The young man behind the desk was very friendly.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0788s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb