So Sorry!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Grover
June 11th 2006
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Meet the Mountain PloverMeet the Mountain PloverMeet the Mountain Plover

Cute little boogers, huh?
Hey everybody,

I'm so sorry it's been so long since the last blog! Now, finally, for your viewing pleasure - new pictures! I only have 3 weeks left at my job here in Colorado. Then it's time for vacation. I'm really looking forward to it. Good times. I finally broke down and bought a wireless card, so now I have easier access to internet, but before it was near impossible to find public internet. I was more connected in rural Ecuador than in rural Colorado!

I have been having some crazy times at this job. I'll explain more for anyone who cares to listen in a less public forum. Let's just say this job is making me really excited about going back to school. I basically drive around on an ATV all day on some really dry dusty fallow fields here looking for nests. I've found 32 Mountain Plover nests so far and I feel like I'm doing my part to conserve their species.

I'm going to keep this short so I can load more pictures. I'm sorry again that it's been so long. Hope you enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

SceneryScenery
Scenery

It's flat and dry. There are very few trees. Almost the ecological opposite of the cloud forest.
My ridesMy rides
My rides

Pretty sweet.
All roads lead to...All roads lead to...
All roads lead to...

Grover, Colorado! Pop. 120 (more or less)
One of the Pawnee ButtesOne of the Pawnee Buttes
One of the Pawnee Buttes

A landmark of the shortgrass prairie.
Mountain Plover Mountain Plover
Mountain Plover

Strike a pose.
Dirty face.Dirty face.
Dirty face.

Nice mustache, eh? And I've been much dirtier.
Cleaner face.Cleaner face.
Cleaner face.

Although, still not entirely clean. Many thanks to Aunt Carrie for the face cleansing cloths! They have really come in handy in a pinch.
Biology in Action!Biology in Action!
Biology in Action!

All my gear and a newly marked nest in the background.


11th June 2006

Nice Pictures!
Becca, That was great to get another blog from you. Glad you have the wireless card now. That little Mountain Plover looks pretty cute, but how do you ever find those nests? I could not find the Plover in the one picture. Hope the job is going much more smoothly and that your next three weeks will go quickly. Love, Grandma

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb