The calm before the storm


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Colorado » Boulder
November 9th 2010
Published: November 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So this is my first entry, of my first travel blog. I'm going to need some time to get used to this.
It's November and I'm graduating from the University of Colorado in 36 days. My degree is in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology and it is something I want to pursue. I have always had the goal of traveling everywhere but never really had a motivation. Finally, it's my senior year of college, I'm about to be freed into the real world, and I have found my motivation. Growing up in New Jersey and going to College in Colorado I have not had the most "well-rounded" education. Now that I'm finishing up with my western education, I'm ready to embark on an adventure to gain knowledge through hands on learning around the globe. I want to study conservation biology and in doing so, I want to learn about how other cultures around the world view the earth. My goal with this blog is to keep track personally about what I am gaining as I travel, and for close family and friends to be able to check up on me when I might go without communication for a while.

I have a one way ticket booked to San Jose, Costa Rica with my girlfriend of 16 months, Elaine. Together, we are planning on spending at least a year backpacking throughout Central/South America. I'm starting the blog now to start gathering my thoughts and goals about this trip. As of now, we are planning on Woofing at a farm in Costa Rica and we have had some offers and places to stay but we have not decided on anything yet. Any recommendations on places to see, people to meet, or volunteering opportunities are welcome.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb