Charleston, South Carolina


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
September 18th 2015
Published: October 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Last spring, I went back home to Charleston, South Carolina. It took us two airplanes and a lot of patience to get there. We were all so happy to be visiting our family, but my little brothers were obviously the most excited. When we landed in South Carolina, we were greeted by my grandparents at baggage claim. We split out small group into two cars and drove to lunch as a re-united family. As we drove to our next destination, I remembered how much I missed my home. I have missed my home and my family so much, that being there was a little overwhelming.

We rented out a beach-house for our time there, but it was in worse condition than we thought it would be. So, we moved to a different beach-house and settled down there for the time being. The beach-houses were on Folly Beach which is also called 'The Edge of America'. We could walk through the back-door and step on an old wooden dock that leads to the beach. It was pretty windy there so we hang out on the beach every day. We even invited family, old friends and some people that my parents know for a small party. The beach-house was filled with people who I knew and people who I had to act like I knew. I greeted them like old friends, when really they were complete strangers. It was a fun way to see family and friends again.

The following days, we went to check out the area. Instead of having Starbucks on every corner like California, South Carolina had seafood restaurants everywhere. There were surf-shops, boat rentals, fishing stores and Crab-Shacks all over the place. When we traveled farther away from the beach area, my family and I could see the marsh. If you are ever in the Charleston area, I suggest you check out the restaurant 'Ladles'. It is a cute little soup shop and for me, they never disappoint. I am a vegetarian so I didn't eat the seafood, but the rest of my family do eat it and they said that all of the seafood was amazing.

Being home and surrounded by familiar food and faces made me feel comfortable and safe. I will continue to visit South Carolina and I will continue to blog about my trips.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb